

DIVISION ONE

FILED: 09/30/2020 AMY M. WOOD,

**Court of Appeals** 

AMY M. WOOD CLERK OF THE COURT

STATE OF ARIZONA DIVISION ONE STATE COURTS BUILDING 1501 WEST WASHINGTON STREET PHOENIX, ARIZONA 85007

CLERK BY: DN Phone: (602) 452-6700 Fax: (602) 452-3226

September 30, 2020

Annell Hounshell, Clerk Apache County Superior Court Apache County Courthouse P O Box 365 St Johns AZ 85936

Dear Ms. Hounshell:

RE: 1 CA-SA 20-0186

HOPI v. HON BRAIN et al. Apache County Superior Court CV6417-203

A decision was filed in the above referenced matter on August 26, 2020. The time for the filing of a motion for reconsideration has expired and no motion was filed. The time for the filing of a petition for review has expired and no such petition was filed. Accordingly, enclosing the following:

Copy of ORDER accepting jurisdiction and denying relief (certified copy)

There are no physical record items to be returned to your Court.

AMY M. WOOD, CLERK

By\_\_\_\_dtn\_\_\_\_ Deputy Clerk

A copy of the foregoing was sent to:

Colin F Campbell Geoffrey M T Sturr Grace E Rebling Eric M Fraser

Phillip W Londen Payslie M. Bowman Carrie Jane Brennan David F Jacobs Kevin Crestin Alexandra R Arboleda Lee A Storey Ethan B Minkin Sara V Ransom David Albert Brown Lauren J Caster Brian Joseph Heiserman Bradley J Pew Judith M Dworkin M Kathryn Hoover Jeffrey S Leonard Evan Hiller Joe Wiley Keene Mark A McGinnis John B Weldon Jr Michael Kenyon Foy Rebecca Michelle Ross Vanessa Boyd Willard Cody McBride Andrew Guss Guarino Emmi Blades Hon Mark H Brain Timothy J Berg

## COURT OF APPEALS

STATE OF ARIZONA DIVISION ONE



DIVISION ONE FILED: 8/26/20 AMY M. WOOD, CLERK BY: RB

THE HOPI TRIBE,	) Court of Appeals B
Petitioner,	) Division One ) No. 1 CA-SA 20-0186
V.	) ) Apache County ) Superior Court ) No. CV6417-203
THE HONORABLE MARK BRAIN, Judge of the SUPERIOR COURT OF THE STATE OF ARIZONA, in and for the County of MARICOPA,	) NO. CV6417-203 ) ) )
Respondent Judge,	)
ARIZONA STATE LAND DEPARTMENT; CITY OF FLAGSTAFF; LCR COALITION; NAVAJO NATION; SALT RIVER PROJECT AGRICULTURAL IMPROVEMENT AND POWER DISTRICT; UNITED STATES,	, ) ) ) )
Real Parties in Interest.	)

## ORDER ACCEPTING JURISDICTION; DENYING RELIEF AND DENYING REQUEST FOR STAY

This court, Presiding Judge D. Steven Williams, Judge David D. Weinzweig and Judge Jennifer M. Perkins participating, has considered the petition for special action and the motion for stay. A telephonic stay hearing was held on August 26, 2020 with Colin F. Campbell, representing Petitioner; Carrie J. Brennan, representing Real Party in Interest Arizona State Land Department; Sara V. Ransom, representing Real Party in Interest City of Flagstaff; Timothy J. Berg, representing Real Party in Interest Little Colorado River Coalition; Jeffrey S. Leonard, representing Real Party in Interest Navajo Nation; Mark A. McGinnis, representing Real Party in Interest Salt River Project Agricultural Improvement & Power District and Rebecca M. Ross, representing the United States. After consideration,

IT IS ORDERED, because Petitioner seeks to challenge an order from which they have no equally plain, speedy or adequate remedy on appeal, in the exercise of its discretion, the court accepts jurisdiction of the special action.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED, after considering Arizona Supreme Court Administrative Order No. 2020-114 issued July 15, 2020, which replaced Administrative Order No. 2020-79, and seeing no abuse of discretion in Special Master Susan Harris' order issued June 30, 2020 and filed July 2, 2020, nor in Judge Mark W. Brain's order issued August 20, 2020, the court denies the relief requested.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED denying Petitioner's motion to stay as moot.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED vacating this court's previous order in its entirety including the obligation requiring the filing and service of a response to the petition.

\_\_\_\_/s/\_\_\_\_ D. Steven Williams, Presiding Judge

The foregoing instrument is a full, true and correct copy of the original on file in this office. ATTEST\_\_\_\_\_\_09/30/2020 AMY M. WOOD, CLERK OF THE COURT of Division One Court of Appeals, State of Arizona

DN

BY

A copy of the foregoing was sent to:

Colin F Campbell Geoffrey M T Sturr Grace E Rebling Eric M Fraser Phillip W Londen Payslie M. Bowman Carrie Jane Brennan David F Jacobs Kevin Crestin Alexandra R Arboleda Lee A Storey Ethan B Minkin Sara V Ransom David Albert Brown Lauren J Caster Brian Joseph Heiserman Bradley J Pew Judith M Dworkin M Kathryn Hoover Jeffrey S Leonard Evan Hiller Joe Wiley Keene Mark A McGinnis John B Weldon Jr Michael Kenyon Foy Rebecca Michelle Ross Vanessa Boyd Willard Cody McBride Andrew Guss Guarino Emmi Blades Hon Mark H Brain Timothy J Berg