What is 'Cpm'


    Introduction
    Digital buying, today is not just an obsession but a way of living. The year 2021 has seen 2.14billion online buyers across the globe. How does one know the variety of products and services operating online? It is through the awareness that brands persist in promoting via online platforms. In order to spread the word across, companies use advertisements and several marketing strategies. The advertisers are offered with a pricing method for the strategy they adopt. One such marketing pricing method is CPM (Cost Per Mille) .


    What is CPM?

    The CPM full form is Cost per Mille (Mille, here means thousands). It roughly translates to Cost per thousand impressions. CPM is a metric adopted by the marketing world to the amount it costs an advertiser to pay for every 1000 impressions. For example, a company promotes an ad on a website that has a huge viewership. The advertiser pays a certain amount to the publisher for every 1000 views on the ad.

    CPM in marketing plays a crucial role because it creates and promotes credibility of the brand amongst the people. When there is a trust for a particular brand from the consumers, there are possibilities of generating leads that convert into revenue. It is also important to get people talking about a product so people recognize and remember the product through the types of promotions. CPM works for new and thriving companies that are in need of wider audience and social campaigns. The purpose is to reach more viewers to improve brand awareness.


    How to calculate CPM?
    The CPM formula is simple. Divide the total ad campaign by number of impressions and multiply them with 1000. For instance, the advertiser is ready to pay $500 for 10000 views then the CPM would be, 500/10,000*1000 = $50. A proper understanding of CPM definition and significance, can generate a trusted group of followers.


    CPM Vs CPA and CPC
    CPM in digital Marketing, is a pricing method that focuses on impressions that an ad leaves behind among thousands of viewers. Whereas CPA (Cost Per Acquisition) focuses on consumers taking actions with every click and CPC (Cost Per Click) focuses on viewers clicking on an ad. While CPA and CPC are adopted in the view of stimulating conversions and revenue, CPM is to endorse brand similarity and social campaigns.


    How to optimize CPM for advertisers?

    To begin with, choosing the right ad network can be the most beneficial for the product owners. There are numerous networks like Google Adsense, Adcash, Popads, Criteo and Smarty Ads. Pick the most relevant one and fix the ad format that attracts more audience. It is wise to ensure that one is aware of the pricing methods of the ads. They can vary seasonally. For example, you want to promote your mango drink ad. You must be aware that the engagements for such content will be more during summer than the other times of the year. Hence, there will be changes in the pricings. So beware of the fluctuations and choose the time that meets the expectations of your budget and reasonable consumer engagement.

    Targeting the right audience is the next thing to do. Know where your consumers belong and what your business goals are. Choose a medium that aligns with the both. These platforms can increase your visibility to find more leads.

    Making a note of the frequency levels of user engagement in an ad is crucial. In some cases, a single viewer may offer many views which may not mean better reach.

    Innovative and attractive copies and visuals are a sure win among social media audience. Get them to remember your brand through the creative ads. This will generate more views and may increase product awareness.

    Secure testimonials to enhance the credibility of your service. Records of users benefitted by the product will help the audience trust better.


    The Downsides of CPM
    Sometimes, advertisers employ automated views on ads using Bots to increase the engagement rate. This accounts to advertising scams. The advertisers may feel they are charged unfairly as it is entirely based on thousands of views and it could sometimes mean low ROI. When an advertisement has glitches while loading, it could mean no impression.


    What does a good CPM mean?
    A good CPM may mean better reach, considerable engagement rate among viewers and increased brand awareness although it does not necessarily mean high conversion rates.


    How to improve my CPM?
    Know your audience, create attention grabbing ads and choose relevant platforms to promote the ads.


    What is impression?
    Impression is a term used to denote the number of views on an ad on a web page.


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