## FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

2000-140

SEC Announces Members of Advisory Committee on Market Information

Washington, DC, September 27, 2000 -- The Securities and Exchange Commission announced today the members of the Advisory Committee on Market Information, which it is in the process of establishing. As previously announced, the Advisory Committee, to be chaired by Joel Seligman, Dean of the Washington University School of Law in St. Louis, will assist the Commission in evaluating issues relating to the public availability of market information in the equities and options markets.

The first meeting of the Advisory Committee will be held on Tuesday, October 10, 2000 in the William O. Douglas room at the Commission's main offices, 450 Fifth Street, N.W., Washington, DC, beginning at 1:00 p.m. The meeting will be open to the public.

\* \* \*

List of Members

Mr. Michael Atkin Vice President Software and Information Industry Association Financial Information Services Division

Mr. Harold S. Bradley Senior Vice President, Investment Management American Century

Mr. Robert G. Britz Group Executive Vice President New York Stock Exchange

Mr. Andrew M. Brooks Vice President, Head of Equity Trading T. Rowe Price

Mr. Matthew S. DeSalvo Managing Director Morgan Stanley Dean Witter

Ms. Carrie E. Dwyer General Counsel & Executive Vice President Charles Schwab

Mr. Robert H. Forney President and CEO Chicago Stock Exchange

Mr. Thomas H. Glocer CEO Reuters America

Mr. Joel Greenberg Managing Director Susquehanna Partners

ه ر

Mr. William R. Harts Managing Director Salomon Smith Barney

Mr. David A. Hunt Partner McKinsey & Company

Mr. George K. Jennison Senior Managing Director, Retail Equity Group First Union Securities

Prof. Simon Johnson Sloan School of Management Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Mr. Edward J. Joyce President and Chief Operating Officer Chicago Board Options Exchange

Mr. Thomas M. Joyce Managing Director, Head of Equity Market Structures Merrill Lynch

Mr. Richard Ketchum President & Chief Operating Officer National Association of Securities Dealers

Prof. Donald C. Langevoort Georgetown University Law Center

Mr. Bernard L. Madoff Bernard L. Madoff Investment Securities

Mr. Mark A. Minister President & CEO Bridge Trading

Mr. Edward Nicoll Chairman and CEO Datek Online Holdings

Mr. Kenneth D. Pasternak President and CEO Knight/Trimark Group

Mr. Gerald D. Putnam CEO Archipelago

Mr. Eric D. Roiter Senior Vice President and General Counsel Fidelity Management & Research Co.

Dean Joel Seligman (Chairman) Washington University School of Law

Mr. Joseph B. Stefanelli

Executive Vice President, Derivative Securities American Stock Exchange

1.30