### MISCELLANEOUS FACTS

# **Computerized Indices:**

- Anchorage Recording District was the first district with computerized indices June 22, 1971
- Illiamna Recording District was second with computerized indices on June 25, 1971
- Palmer Recording District began November 1, 1971
- Talkeetna, Fairbanks, Kodiak, Kenai and Cape Nome Recording Districts began January 2, 1972
- Juneau Recording District began July 1, 1972
- Ketchikan and Sitka Recording Districts began August 1, 1972
- Homer Recording District began July 1, 1974
- Kvichak, Cordova, Aleutian Islands, Nenana, Rampart, Nulato, Mt. McKinley, Manley Hot Springs, Kuskokwim, Bethel, Chitina, Valdez and Seward Recording Districts began January 2, 1975
- Petersburg, Wrangell, Seldovia and Bristol Bay Recording Districts began July 1, 1975
- Haines and Skagway Recording Districts began January 2, 1976
- Fairhaven Recording District from January 2, 1972 until merged with Cape Nome July 1, 1975
- McCarthy Recording District from January 2, 1972 until merged with Chitina Recording District July 1, 1975
- Hyder Recording District from January 2, 1973 until merged with Ketchikan District July 1, 1975

#### **Disasters:**

- Chitina Recording District had a fire sometime in January 1949 when the recording office was located in Copper Center. Records from 1890 up to about 1944 were destroyed in the fire. Grantor/grantee indices from 1890 forward are available.
- Tsunami in 1964 caused serious water/silt damage to the Valdez books
- Talkeetna books 5, 6, and 7 (from August 10, 1916 through November 14, 1918) were destroyed in a fire prior to moving to Palmer

## Other:

- Public access terminals installed at all DNR maintained locations in the fall of 1991
- The Kenai Peninsula Borough has property in the Kenai, Seward, Homer and Anchorage Districts
- Barrow recordings prior to 1969 were recorded in the Fairbanks District

## **Boundary Adjustments and Mergers:**

- Goodnews Bay merged with Bethel November 30, 1948
- Noatak-Kobuk Recording District merged with Fairbanks Recording District in 1969
- A portion of Noatak-Kobuk/Fairbanks District above the 68 degree North Latitude is now Barrow Recording District
- A portion of the Noatak-Kobuk/Fairbanks Recording District below the 68 degree North Latitude is now the Kotzebue Recording District.
- Wade Hampton District was combined with the Bethel District September 11, 1970

- McCarthy and Chitina Recording Districts merged to become the Chitina Recording District July 1, 1975
- Hyder and Ketchikan Recording Districts merged to become the Ketchikan Recording District July 1, 1975
- Whittier and Anchorage Recording Districts merged to become the Anchorage Recording District July 1, 1975
- Fairhaven and Cape Nome Recording Districts merged to become the Cape Nome Recording District July 1, 1975
- The Barrow Recording District was established July 1, 1975
- The Kotzebue Recording District was established July 1, 1975