

Fact Sheet: Atmospheric River & Federal Assistance Information

MAJOR DISASTER DECLARATION

On January 12, 2023, Governor Gavin Newsom requested an Expedited Major Disaster Declaration. The President can declare a Major Disaster Declaration for any natural event that the President believes has caused damage of such severity that it is beyond the combined capabilities of state and local governments to respond.

A Major Disaster Declaration provides a wide range of federal assistance programs for individuals and public infrastructure. On January 14, 2023, President Joseph R. Biden, Jr., approved the Major Disaster Declaration.

For counties not currently covered by FEMA's Major Disaster Declaration, additional areas may be requested and added after further damage assessments. The state is working with FEMA to expeditiously conduct these assessments. Below is a broad overview of what has been approved and the next steps to support communities throughout California.

Under the President's order signed January 18, 2023, the federal share increased to 100 percent of the total eligible costs for debris removal and emergency protective measures (Categories A and B) including direct federal assistance for 60 days from the start of the incident period, December 27, 2022.

Where to go for help

Residents and business owners in Alameda, Calaveras, Contra Costa, Mendocino, Merced, Monterey, Sacramento, San Joaquin, San Luis Obispo, San Mateo, Santa Barbara, Santa Cruz and Ventura counties who sustained losses in the designated areas can apply for disaster assistance:

- Online at <u>DisasterAssistance.gov</u>
- Calling 800-621-3362
- By using the FEMA smart phone application
- If you use a relay service, such as video relay service (VRS), captioned telephone service or others, give FEMA the number for that service



Fact Sheet: Atmospheric River & Federal Assistance Information

Current Assistance Available for this Federal Major Disaster Declaration

	Individual Assistance	Public Assistance	Hazard Mitigation Assistance
Counties Designated	Alameda, Calaveras, Contra Costa, Mendocino, Merced, Monterey, Sacramento, San Joaquin, San Luis Obispo, San Mateo, Santa Barbara, Santa Cruz, and Ventura counties	Alameda, Amador, Butte, Calaveras, Colusa, Contra Costa, Del Norte, El Dorado, Fresno, Glenn, Humboldt, Inyo, Los Angeles, Madera, Marin, Mariposa, Mendocino, Merced, Monterey, Napa, Nevada, Placer, Sacramento, San Benito, San Diego, San Francisco, San Joaquin, San Luis Obispo, San Mateo, Santa Barbara, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz, Siskiyou, Solano, Sonoma, Stanislaus, Sutter, Tehama, Trinity, Tulare, Tuolumne, Ventura, and Yolo counties	All 58 counties
What it means	Assistance to individuals and households to repair or replace damaged property. Housing assistance available only for primary residence. Other Needs Assistance (ONA) may include transportation, childcare and medical and dental expenses. FEMA works with the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) to	Assistance to state and local governments and certain private non-profit organizations for emergency work (which includes debris removal) and permanent work, Categories A-G.	Assistance to state and local governments and certain private non- profit organizations for actions taken to prevent or reduce long term risk to life and property from natural hazards.



Fact Sheet: Atmospheric River & Federal Assistance Information

offer low-interest disaster loans to businesses (including private non-profit organizations), homeowners, and	
homeowners, and renters with physical	
damage.	

EMERGENCY DECLARATION

On January 8, 2023, Governor Gavin Newsom requested a Presidential Emergency Declaration: Emergency Protective Measures (Category B) limited to Direct Federal Assistance. The Emergency Declaration was approved by President Biden. An Emergency Declaration can be declared for any occasion or instance when the President determines federal assistance is needed, supplementing State and local efforts in providing emergency services, such as the protection of lives, property, public health, and safety, or to lessen or avert the threat of a catastrophe.

So far, 41 counties have been added to the Presidential Emergency Declaration, including:

Alameda, Contra Costa, Colusa, El Dorado, Fresno, Glenn, Humboldt, Kings, Lake, Los Angeles, Madera, Marin, Mariposa, Mendocino, Merced, Mono, Monterey, Napa, Orange, Placer, Riverside, Sacramento, San Benito, San Bernardino, San Diego, San Francisco, San Joaquin, San Luis Obispo, San Mateo, Santa Barbara, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz, Solano, Sonoma, Stanislaus, Sutter, Tehama, Tulare, Ventura, Yolo, and Yuba.

Assistance Available for this Presidential Emergency Declaration

	Public Assistance Category B – Direct Federal Assistance	
Counties	41 counties	
included		
What it	When the impact of a disaster is so severe that neither the State	
means	nor local government can adequately respond, either by direct	
	performance or by contract, the State may request that certain	
	emergency work be performed directly by a Federal Agency.	