UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, BERKELEY

BERKELEY • DAVIS • IRVINE • LOS ANGELES • MERCED • RIVERSIDE • SAN DIEGO • SAN FRANCISCO



SANTA BARBARA • SANTA CRUZ

DEPARTMENT OF PHYSICS BERKELEY, CALIFORNIA 94720-7300

October 16, 2015

As faculty members in the UC Berkeley Physics Department, we stress our own commitment to developing and maintaining a supportive and open environment, free of sexual harassment and fear of retribution. Physics is committed to changing, starting from within the department, the policies and practices that insufficiently address harassment. Current policies and practices do not adequately prioritize the safety and well-being of members of the University community, particularly our students, who experience sexual harassment and assault with devastating consequences to their personal lives and careers. We call on UC Berkeley's administration to work with the Physics Department, as well as with students, postdoctoral scholars, faculty, and staff across campus, in developing a more effective and transparent process by which sexual harassment and assault cases are pursued and appropriate sanctions imposed.

Sincerely,

Mina Aganagic James Analytis Jonathan Arons Stuart Bale Robert Birgeneau Steven Boggs Raphael Bousso Carlos Bustamante John Clarke Marvin Cohen Michael Crommie Michael DeWeese Joel Fajans Roger Falcone Mary K. Gaillard Ori Ganor Hernan Garcia **Reinhard Genzel** Naomi Ginsberg Hartmut Häffner Lawrence Hall Oskar Hallatschek Wick Haxton

Beate Heinemann Frances Hellman William Holzapfel Petr Horava Barbara Jacak Bob Jacobsen Daniel Kasen Leroy Kerth Edgar Knobloch Yury Kolomensky Alessandra Lanzara Adrian Lee Dunghai Lee Stephen Leone Robert Littlejohn Steven G. Louie Kam-Biu Luk Christopher McKee Daniel McKinsey Joel Moore Holger Müller Hitoshi Murayama Jeffrey Neaton

Yasunori Nomura Gabriel Orebi Gann Joe Orenstein Saul Perlmutter P. Buford Price Matt Pyle Zi Qiang Qiu Eliot Quataert Surjeet Rajendran Ramamoorthy Ramesh Bernard Sadoulet Uros Seljak Marjorie Shapiro Yuen-Ron Shen Irfan Siddigi George F. Smoot Dan Stamper-Kurn Herbert Steiner Mark Strovink Ashvin Vishwanath Feng Wang Martin White Jonathan Wurtele Ahmet Yildiz