Appendix N Smoke Management Program Development Stakeholder Process

The Smoke Management Program was developed through a facilitated stakeholder process over a six-month period. The stakeholder process involved representatives from federal, state and municipal land management agencies, other local government agencies, agriculture, tribes, neighboring states, private landownership, environmental groups and other interested parties.

The Smoke Management Program was drafted by a Working Team of a dozen stakeholder representatives with direct technical expertise or working knowledge of burning and/or smoke management on air impacts from smoke. This group, in conjunction with AQB staff, held seven meetings during which they reviewed background material, discussed and decided on issues, and developed products to be sent out for review.

The Working Team's products were reviewed by a larger group of stakeholder representatives, the Representative Review and Input Team. This group met three times to give input to the Working Team, in addition to providing detailed written and verbal comments to the Working Team throughout the Smoke Management Program development process.

When the Review Team provided consensus approval on the Smoke Management Program document, as well as the major elements of the Smoke Management Regulation, both documents were then reviewed by the Regional Haze Stakeholder group. This group provided official written comments that were used to further revise the Smoke Management Program and the Smoke Management Regulation, which were then presented for public comment, and finally reviewed and approved by the Environmental Improvement Board and became effective on December 31, 2003.

The Smoke Management Program will be reviewed each year by the AQB and stakeholder representatives.

NM Smoke Management Program Development Representative Review and Input Team Members

* Denotes member of the Smoke Management Development Process Working Team

Name

Affiliation

Gilbert Archuleta Gretchen Barkmann*	State Fire Marshal's Office USDA Forest Service, New Mexico Forests
Sherry Barrow	SBS Wood Shavings
John Bartlit*	NM Citizens for Clean Air & Water
Bill Blankenship	Los Alamos National Laboratory
Lisa Bye*	Bureau of Land Management/USDI FWS/National Park Service
George Chavez*	Natural Resources Conservation Service
Hugh Church*	American Lung Association of New Mexico
David Coss	NM State Land Office
Tye Curtis	NM Seedsmen Association
Tim Darden*	NM Department of Agriculture
Paul Diaz	Elephant Butte Irrigation District
Don Fletcher*	NM Pecan Growers Association
Andrew Frye	Private Industry
Terrence Garcia	Pueblo of San Ildefonso
Bill Gomez	NMSU Cooperative Extension Service
Howard Hutchinson	NM/AZ Coalition of Counties/NM Farm Bureau
Joe Kordzi	US EPA
John Kwait	Bureau of Land Management
Hal Luedtke	Bureau of Indian Affairs, Southwestern Region
Bob Lineback	National Park Service
Jerome MacDonald	USDA Forest Service, Southwestern Region
Mike Main	USDI, Fish and Wildlife Service
Julie Maitland	NM Department of Agriculture
David Martinez	US Forest Service
Ron Martinez	Costilla Livestock Board
Michelle J. Nolde	City of Santa Fe, Fire Department
Debby Potter	USDA Forest Service, Southwestern Region
Tom Ribe*	Forest Guardians
Fred Rossbach*	Forestry Division, Energy, Minerals & Natural Resources
	Department
David Salopek	Salopek Farms/NM Pecan Growers Association
Linda Scheffe*	Natural Resources Conservation Service
Carl Stubbs*	NM Environment Department, Roswell District Office
David Vackar*	Vermejo Park Ranch
Dan Warren	City of Albuquerque, Environmental Health Department
Neil Weber	Pueblo of San Ildefonso
Jeff Whitney	USDI, Fish and Wildlife Service
Richard Woolley*	National Park Service