STATE OF MINNESOTA HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

ANOKA MEETING

HIGHER EDUCATION COMMITTEE

MINUTES

On Wednesday, October 14, 1987, the members of the Higher Education Committee met at the Anoka Technical Institute to discuss H.F. 1100 (Larsen, E.), the Community College, AVTI Merger Proposal. Rep. Mike Jaros, Chairman of the Committee on Higher Education, was unable to attend. Rep. Ernie Larsen called the meeting to order at 2:50 PM. He introduced the committee staff, Kerry Fine of House Research, and Mercedes Peterson, committee secretary. He then asked the committee members to introduce themselves to the audience.

The following members were present:

Forsythe
Heap
Johnson, R.
Johnson, V.
Larsen

Lasley Omann Pelowski Tompkins

The following Higher Education Committee members were excused: Jaros, Boo, Gruenes, Kinkel, Kludt, Nelson, K., Otis, Ozment, Reding, Rukavina, and Trimble.

Mr. Nuri Hassuman, Director of Anoka Technical Institute, welcomed the members and audience, and gave a description of the Institute.

Rep. Larsen appointed Rep. Lasley to chair the meeting so that he could present H.F. 1100.

H.F. 1100 (Larsen, E.) Post-secondary education; state board of Minnesota colleges established with authority over vocational-technical institutions and community colleges, powers prescribed.

Questions of the author from committee members followed Rep. Larsen's presentation.

The following persons presented testimony on H.F. 1100:

Jon Stonecash, School Board Member, Anoka-Hennepin Indpt. School Dist. #11

Nuri Hassumani, Director, Anoka Technical Institute

Neil Christianson, President, Anoka Ramsey Community College

Harlan Sheely, Director, St. Paul Technical Institute

Mary Michaels, Teacher, Legal Secy. Class, Anoka Technical Institute

Mr. Joe Graba, State Director of Vocational Education, was asked to clarify whether a statewide vote had ever been taken by any faculty organization on the proposed merger.

The meeting was adjourned at 4:40 PM.

Mercedes E. Peterson, Clerk

Harold F. Lasley, Acting Chairman

Mike Jaros, Chairman