EDUCATION COMMITTEE

MINUTES

Representative McEachern, Chair of the Education Committee, called the thirtieth meeting to order at 9:00 A.M. on Wednesday, January 13, 1988, at Chisholm Junior High School, Chisholm, Minnesota.

Members present:

McEachern, Chair Olson, K., Vice Chair Bauerly Beard Dawkins Kelso

Kinkel Olsen Olson, E. Otis Swenson

Members excused:

Gruenes
Hartle
Hugoson
Johnson
Kostohryz
McDonald
McPherson
Nelson, C.
Nelson, K.
Ozment
Pelowski

Quinn
Richter
Schafer
Thiede
Tompkins
Trimble
Tunheim
Vellenga
Wagenius
Wenzel

John Regan, Superintendent, Chisholm Public Schools, welcomed the members of the committee to Chisholm.

Speaking to the issue of School District Reorganization were:

Dan Skoog, Assistant Commissioner Minnesota Department of Education Division of Management Effectiveness

Dick Pearson Management Assistance Consultant

Speaking to the issue of Cooperative Effort were:

Michael Lang, Superintendent Eveleth and Gilbert School Districts

Gary Norris, Superintendent Hibbing School District

John Regan, Superintendent Chisholm, School District

Don Langen, Superintendent Aurora/Hoyt Lakes and Biwabik School Districts

Peter Jurkovich, Superintendent Tower-Soudan School District

Scheduled for hearing was H.F. 811 (Rukavina) relating to education; providing aid to school districts that consolidate; appropriating money.

Rep. Rukavina, chief author, presented the bill and discussion followed.

The meeting was adjourned at 11:00 A.M.

BOB MCEACHERN, CHAIR

Norma Christensen, Clerk