TAX COMMITTEE

The thirty-fifth meeting of the House Tax Committee was called to order by Chai Gordon O. Voss at 9:00 a.m. on January 13, 1988 in the City Council Room, City Hall, Hibbing, Minnesota. Chairman Voss explained that the Tax Committee would hear public testimony on the Omnibus Tax Bill of 1987.

The following members were recorded present:

Voss, Chair

Minne Begich

Blatz

Neuenschwander Osthoff

Dauner Frerichs Peterson Redalen

Rest

Kelly Schied

The following members were excused:

Bennett Brown

Nelson

Dempsey Himle

Ogren Onnen Pauly

Jacobs Jaros Long

Schreiber Skoglund Sviggum Valento

Marsh McKasy McLaughlin

Vanasek Welle

Wynia

The following persons testified on portions of the bill:

Wayne Cox, Citizens for Tax Justice

Commissioner Gary Doty, St. Louis County

Willard Anderson, CORE of Northern Minnesota

Merle Sutnerlund, retired citizen

Dick Cain and Bill Loscheider, Northern MN Citizens League

Lee Bondhus, Esko, Reinsurance Association of MN

Elda Meltz and Keith Austin, Pay-Low Mutual Insurance

Ron Sieloff, Lobbyist

Charles Letterman, Railroad Retirees, Floodwood, MN

Bob Roots, Chisholm, Iron Range Labor Assembly

Duane Arvola, Babbit, Landlord/Property Management

Chairman Voss thanked all those who participated in the meeting. The meeting adjourned at 11:30 am.

Dano. Una

Gordon O. Voss, Chair

Eunice Groschen, Clerk