## ENVIRONMENT AND NATURAL RESOURCES COMMITTEE

## MINUTES

Chairman Willard Munger called the thirty-eighth meeting to order at 3:50 p.m. on Thursday, October 19, 1989. The meeting was held at the Worthington mini-session in the Fine Arts Building Theater of the Worthington Community College.

Members present:

M	Reding
Munger	Simoneau
Carlson, D.	Skoglund
Johnson, A.	Trimble
Johnson, B.	
McGuire	Winter

Also present was Senator DeCramer.

Members excused: Battaglia, Begich, Himle, Jennings, V. Johnson, Kahn, Long, Lynch, Marsh, McPherson, Neuenschwander, Ozment, Pauly, Price, Pugh, Redalen, Rukavina, Schafer, Wagenius, Waltman and Weaver.

Group presentations were made on local water management. Speaking for the counties were:

> Dr. Henry Quade, South Central Water Planning Project: Cottonwood, Jackson, Martin Counties

> Bob Finley, Redwood-Cottonwood Rivers Control Area: Murray, Pipestone, Lyon, Lincoln, Redwood, Yellow Medicine Counties

Jim Lewis, Vice-Chair, Rock County Water Advisory Commission

Marvell Tripp, County Commissioner and Chair, Nobles County Water Task Force

Speaking for the Okabena-Ochida Watershed District/Worthington Clean Water Partnership Project were:

Greg Sparks, City Administrator, Worthington

Bruce Amundson, Biology Instructor, Worthington

Speaking for the Kanaranzi-Little Rock Small Watershed Project were:

Don Schutz, President, Kanaranzi-Little Rock Watershed District

Dave Behm, Land Use Specialist, Board of Water and Soil Resources

Annette Bair of the Southwest Regional Development Commission addressed the solid waste reduction and recycling issue. Three groups spoke on the ways their counties are addressing the solid waste problem.

Speaking for Cottonwood, Murray, Pipestone, Lincoln and Nobles Counties were:

> Mike Kirchmeier, Coordinator, Southwest Minnesota Recycling Task Force

Ron Schaap, Nobles County hauler and recycler

Bob Soleta, Land Source Bio-Tech Center (Cottonwood)

Margo Odden, Windom Recycling Task Force (Cottonwood)

Speaking for Jackson, Martin and Rock Counties were:

Arnold Johnson, City Engineer and Recycling Coordinator, Rock County

Denny Hanselman, Director, Environmental Services, Jackson County

Bill Paul, Waste Systems, Inc., Albert Lea

Speaking for Lyon County Waste-To-Energy Program were:

Paul Henrickson, Environmental Officer, Lyon County

Darwin Dice, Recycle First, Ghent

The meeting adjourned at 6:15 p.m.

ARD MUNGER Chaii