ENVIRONMENT AND NATURAL RESOURCES COMMITTEE

MINUTES

Chairman Willard Munger called the thirty-ninth meeting to order at 9:30 a.m. on Wednesday, November 15, 1989. The meeting was held at the Moorhead mini-session in the Comstock Ballroom at Moorhead State University.

Members present:

Munger Reding
Begich Rukavina
Carlson, D. Skoglund
Hausman Wagenius
Johnson, A. Waltman
Johnson, V. Winter
Lynch
McGuire

Members excused: Battaglia, Himle, Jennings, B. Johnson, Kahn, Long, Marsh, McPherson, Neuenschwander, Ozment, Price, Pugh, Redalen, Schafer, Trimble and Weaver.

Speaking on local water management were:

Lance Hohe, President
The International Coalition for Land/Water
Stewardship in the Red River Basin

Jim Van Alstine Associate Professor, Science & Math University of Minnesota, Morris

Virginia Krueger, Coordinator Red River of the North Resource Management Area

Cliff McLain Water Division Mgr. Public Service City of Moorehead

Speaking on solid waste reduction and recycling were:

Bob Martin Director, Public Works City of Moorhead

Jean Brandt, Director Clay County Solid Waste Management

Loren Devine Physical Plant Administrator Moorhead State University

Lynn Tkachuk League of Women Voters, Moorhead

Tom Mosher Deputy Auditor 7 Solid Waste Officer Norman County

Mark Bobman Solid Waste Officer Polk County

Jim Ellingson Minnesota Teacher of the Year Probstfield Elementary, Moorhead Bob Englestead TRASH DEPOT, Moorhead

Speaking on environmental education was:

Nancy Harger, Director Barlage Science Center Moorhead State University

The meeting adjourned at 12:10 p.m.

ILLARD MUNGER, Chair

Marge Lane, Clerk