EDUCATION COMMITTEE

MINUTES

Rep. McEachern, Chair of the Education Committee, called the thirty-fourth meeting to order on Thursday, November 16, 1989, at 9:30 A.M., at Barnesville High School, Barnesville, Minnesota.

Members present:

McEachern, Chair
Olson, K., Vice Chair
Frederick
Girard
Hartle
Hugoson
Johnson
Kelso
Kinkel
McDonald
Nelson, C.

Ostrom
Otis
Ozment
Pappas
Pelowski
Richter
Schafer
Swenson
Tunheim
Wagenius
Waltman

Members excused:

Omann

Bauerly Beard Hasskamp Jaros McGuire McPherson Nelson, K. Pellow Rest Scheid Weaver Wenzel

Representatives Trimble and Vellenga were removed from the membership of the Education Committee. Representative Pappas was added to the membership of the Education Committee.

Duane Swenson, Clerk, Barnesville School Board, welcomed the committee to Barnesville.

Speaking to the issue of rural education through cooperation were:

DuWayne Balken, Director, West Central ECSU

Harold Larson, Executive Director, Valley & Lakes Education District

Addressing education from the view of the teacher were:

Steve Hilgers, Teacher, Barnesville Public Schools

Jim Ellingson, Minnesota Teacher of the Year, Probstfield Elementary School, Moorhead, who also discussed changes that will occur in the 1990's.

Larry Mickelson, staff person, Minnesota Federation of Teachers, addressed the issue of restructuring.

Students in attendance at the hearing were invited to participate in the discussions. Concerns that students discussed were open enrollment, a recent local levy referendum, length of school day and year, college enrollment and time-on-task.

The meeting was adjourned at 11:35 A.M.

BOB MCEACHERN, CHAIR

Norma Christensen, Clerk