https://www.lrl.mn.gov/history/usconamd

12

Journal of the Senate.

[1st Day

Congress shall have power to enforce this article by appropriate legislation."

F. H. GILLETT, • Speaker of the House of Representatives.

THOS. R. MARSHALL, Vice President of the United States and President of the Senate.

MESSAGE FROM THE HOUSE.

Mr. President: I have the honor to announce the passage by the House of the following House File, herewith transmitted:

H. F. No. 1, A Joint Resolution ratifying a proposed amendment to the Constitution of the United States of America.

OSCAR ARNESON, Chief Clerk, House of Representatives.

September 8, 1919.

SUSPENSION OF RULES.

Mr. Sageng moved that the rules be suspended, and that H. F. No. 1 be given its first, second and third reading and placed upon its final passage.

Which motion prevailed.

FIRST READING OF HOUSE BILLS.

H. F. No. 1, A Joint Resolution ratifying a proposed amendment to the Constitution of the United States of America.

Was read the first time.

SECOND READING OF HOUSE BILLS.

H. F. No. 1,

Was read the second time.

THIRD READING OF HOUSE BILLS.

H. F. No. 1, A Joint Resolution ratifying a proposed amendment to the Constitution of the United States of America.

Was read the third time.

Senator Brooks stated to the Senate that he had received a telegram from Senator Fowler, from New York City, requesting Senator Brooks to state to the Senate that if he, Senator Fowler, were present he would vote to ratify the amendment granting woman suffrage.

The question being taken on the passage of the bill, And the roll being called, there were yeas 60 and nays 5, as follows:

Those who voted in the affirmative were:

Adams, Anderson, Baldwin, Benson, Bessette, Bonniwell, Boylan, Brooks, Callahan, Carley, Cashel, Coleman, Conroy, Cougrove, Cumming Denegre, Devold, Dwyer, Erickson, Gandrud, Gillam, Gjerset,		Madigan, Millett, Naplin, Nolan, Nord, Orr, Palmer, Peterson, Putnam, Rask, Reed, Ribenack,	Romberg, Sageng, Schmechel, Stepan, Sullivan, G. H., Sullivan, J. D., Swanson, Turnham, Vibert, Ward, Widell, Wold,
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------	--	---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------	---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Those who voted in the negative were:

Handlan,

Kuntz,

Loonam,

McGarry,

Van Hoven.

So the bill passed and its title was agreed to.

MOTIONS AND RESOLUTIONS—CONTINUED.

Mr. Putnam moved that the Senate do now adjourn until 9:00 A. M. tomorrow.

Which motion prevailed.

GEO. W. PEACHEY, Secretary of the Senate.