PRESIDENTIAL PREFERENCE PRIMARY.

The first election under the Minnesota Presidential preference primary law was held March 14, 1916. At this election the voters of the several parties having a legal standing in the state expressed their preference for president and vice president, selected presidential electors, and named delegates to the national nominating conventions to represent their expressions. The total number of votes cast by all parties was 191,531.

Four parties, the Republican, Democratic, Prohibition and Progressive participated, but only the first three had contests. The vote for president was as follows:

REPUBLICAN PARTY

Albert B. Cummins received	.54,214	votes
Henry D. Estabrook received	12,693	"
Wm. Grant Webster received		

DEMOCRATIC PARTY

Woodrow Wilson	received	45,136 v	votes

PROHIBITION PARTY

Eugene N. Foss received	2,465	votes
William Sulzer received	3,334	"

The Progressive party did not offer any candidate for president or vice president, but filed sufficient names to fill out its apportionment of delegates to the national convention and also the required list of presidential electors. Because of the lack of contests the Progressive party took no part in the primary. (Pamphlets containing a full report of the election held under this primary law can be had on application at the office of the Secretary of State.)