396	JOUR	NAL OF THE	HOUSE	[23rd Day
Kvam Laidig Lehto Levi Long Ludeman Luknic Mann McCarron McCorron McCorron McCarron McCarron McEachern Mehrkens Metzen Minne Moe	Munger Murphy Nelsen, B. Nelsen, M. Nelson Niehaus Nortan Norton Novak Nysether Olsen Onnen Osthoff Otis Patton	Pavlak Pehler Piepho Pleasant Prahl Redalen Reding Rees Reif Rice Rose Rothenberg Sarna Schreiber	Searles Sherwood Sieben, H. Simoneau Stadum Stoa Stowell Sviggum Swanson Thiede Tomlinson Valan Valento Vanasek	Voss Waldorf Welch Welker Wenzel Wieser Wigley Wynia Zubay Speaker Searle

Sieben, H., moved that further proceedings of the roll call be dispensed with and that the Sergeant at Arms be instructed to bring in the absentees. The motion prevailed and it was so ordered.

The question recurred on the motion to reconsider the vote whereby H. F. No. 3 was not passed on the Calendar earlier today and the roll was called. There were 69 yeas and 63 nays as follows:

Those who voted in the affirmative were:

Adams Anderson, B. Anderson, G.	Eken Ellingson Enebo	Kahn Kalis Kaller	Nelsen, M. Nelson	Sarna Sieben, H.
Anderson, I.	Ewald	Kelly Kostohryz	Norton Novak	Sieben, M. Simoneau
Berglin	Faricy	Kroening	Olsen	Stoa
Berkelman	Forsythe	Lehto	Onnen	Swanson
Byrne	Fudro	Long	Otis	Tomlinson
Carlson, L.	Greenfield	Mann	Patton	Vanasek
Casserly	Halberg	McCarron	\mathbf{Pehler}	Voss
Clark	Hokanson	Metzen	Peterson	Welch
Clawson	Jacobs	Minne	Pleasant	Wenzel
Corbid	Jaros	Moe	Prahl	Wynia
Crandall	Johnson, C.	Munger	Reding	Speaker Searle
Dean	Jude	Murphy	Rice	-

Those who voted in the negative were:

The motion prevailed.

H. F. No. 3 was reported to the House.

H. F. No. 3, A resolution ratifying a proposed amendment to the Constitution of the United States of America relating to the District of Columbia.

The bill was placed upon its final passage.

The question was taken on the passage of the bill and the roll was called. There were 68 yeas and 66 nays as follows:

Those who voted in the affirmative were:

Adams Anderson, B. Anderson, G. Anderson, I. Berglin Berkelman	Eken Ellingson Enebo Ewald Faricy Forsythe	Kelly Knickerbocker Kostohryz Kroening Lehto Long	Novak Olsen Otis Patton	Sieben, H. Sieben, M. Simoneau Stoa Swanson Tomlinson
Byrne	Fudro	Mann	Pehler	Vanasek
Carlson, L.	Greenfield	McCarron	Peterson	Voss
Casserly	Hokanson	Metzen	Pleasant	Welch
Clark	Jacobs	Minne	Prahl	Wenzel
Clawson	Jaros	Moe	Reding	Wynia
Corbid	Johnson, C.	Munger	Rice	Speaker Searle
Crandall	Jude	Murphy	Sarna	
Dean	Kahn	Nelsen, M.	Schreiber	

Those who voted in the negative were:

Aasness	Elioff	Kaley	Nysether	Sviggum
Ainley	Erickson	Kalis	Onnen	Thiede
Albrecht	Esau	Kempe	Osthoff	Valan
Anderson, D.	Evans	Kvam	Pavlak	Valento
Anderson, R.	Fjoslien	Laidig	Piepho	Waldorf
Battaglia	Friedrich	Levi	Ređalen	Weaver
Begich	\mathbf{Fritz}	Ludeman	Rees	\mathbf{W} elker
Biersdorf	Halberg	Luknic	Reif	\mathbf{W} ieser
Blatz	Haukoos	McDonald	\mathbf{R} ose	Wigley
Brinkman	Heap	McEachern	Rothenberg	Zubay
Carlson, D.	Heinitz	Mehrkens	Searles	
Dempsey	Hoberg	Nelsen, B.	Sherwood	
Den Ouden	Jennings	Niehaus	Stadum	
Drew	Johnson, D.	Norman	Stowell	

The bill was passed and its title agreed to.

REPORT FROM THE COMMITTEE ON RULES AND LEGISLATIVE ADMINISTRATION

Anderson, I., from the Committee on Rules and Legislative Administration to which was referred:

House Resolution No. 5, A house resolution relating to the payment of living expenses and mileage for members of the House of Representatives.

These pages from the House Journal provide information related to legislator compensation. Additional details are provided at https://www.leg.state.mn.us/lrl/histleg/salary

Reported the same back with the recommendation that the resolution be adopted.

The report was adopted.

Anderson, I., moved that House Resolution No. 5 be now adopted.

HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 5

A house resolution relating to the payment of living expenses and mileage for members of the House of Representatives.

Whereas, Minnesota Statutes 1978, Section 3.099, authorizes the payment of mileage and living expenses of members of the House of Representatives in the amount and for the purposes approved by the House of Representatives; Now, Therefore,

Be it Resolved, by the House of Representatives of the State of Minnesota:

(1) The Chief Clerk of the House of Representatives is directed to issue warrants in payment of living expenses and mileage to each member of the house from the legislative expense fund for each calendar day of the 71st Legislature.

(2) The per diem living expenses for all members of the house who shall request reimbursement in writing shall be the amount requested by each member which is not more than the maximum daily amount allowed by statute.

(3) Those members of the house who move from their usual place of lodging during a substantial part of the 71st Legislature shall, upon written request, be additionally reimbursed for travel to the state capitol and from their homes at the rate of 16 cents per mile, or such greater amount as may be authorized by the commissioner of personnel for state employees. The reimbursement shall not exceed one round trip per session week of the 71st Legislature.

(4) Each member of the house shall certify in writing to the Chief Clerk, prior to the issuance of the first of such warrants for living expenses, whether or not he or she has moved from his or her usual place of lodging.

The question was taken on the adoption of House Resolution No. 5 and the roll was called. There were 111 yeas and 18 nays as follows: Those who voted in the affirmative were:

AasnessEneboAdamsEricksoAinleyEvansAnderson, B.EwaldAnderson, G.ForsytAnderson, I.FriedriBattagliaFritzBegichFudroBerginGreenfBiersdorfHalberBrinkmanHaukoCarlson, L.HobergCarlson, L.HobergClarkJacobsCorbidJarosCrandallJenningDeanJohnsoDempseyJohnsoDen OudenJudeEllingsonKalis	Kroening Kvam he Laidig ch Lehto Levi Ludeman ield Luknic g Mann os McCarron McDonald McEachern on Mehrkens Metzen Minne gs Moe a, C. Munger	 Norton Novak Nysether Onnen Otis Patton Pavlak Pehler Peterson Pleasant Prahl Redalen Reding Reif Rice Rose Sarna Schreiber Searles Schreiber, H. Sieben, H. Sieben, M. Simoneau 	Stadum Stoa Stowell Sviggum Swanson Thiede Valan Valento Vanasek Voss Weaver Welch Welker Welker Wenzel Wieser Wigley Wynia Zubay Speaker Searle
---	---	--	---

Those who voted in the negative were:

Anderson, D.	Byrne	Heap	Olsen	Tomlinson
Anderson, R.	Drew	Kelly	Piepho	Waldorf
Berkelman	Faricy	Kempe	Rees	
Blatz	Fjoslien	Nelsen, M.	Rothenberg	

The motion prevailed and House Resolution No. 5 was adopted.

Biersdorf and Metzen were excused at 4:05 p.m.

GENERAL ORDERS

Pursuant to rules of the House, the House resolved itself into the Committee of the Whole, with Anderson, I., in the chair, for the consideration of bills pending on General Orders of the Day. After some time spent therein the Committee arose.

REPORT OF COMMITTEE OF THE WHOLE

The Speaker resumed the Chair, whereupon the following proceedings of the Committee as kept by the Chief Clerk were reported to the House:

H. F. Nos. 218, 245, 263, 303 and 340 which it recommended to pass.

S. F. No. 67 which it recommended to pass.

H. F. No. 360 which it recommended progress until Thursday, March 15, 1979.