COMMITTEE ON RULES AND ADMINISTRATION Meeting: Tuesday, February 13, 1979

Room 15, Capitol, 10 A. M.

Members Present: Senators Coleman, Chairman Jensen

Hanson, Vice Chairman Laufenburger

Ashbach Ogdahl
Chenoweth Olson
Chmielewski Pillsbury
Davies Purfeerst
Frederick Wegener
Gearty Willet

Others Present: Patrick Flahaven, Secretary of the Senate

G. G. Goodwin, Minority Secretary of the Senate

Peter Wattson, Senate Counsel Janine Mattson, Personnel Officer Members of the Press and others

Hughes

Chairman Coleman called the meeting to order at 10:05 A. M. He recognized Senator Gearty, Chairman of the Subcommittee on Bill Referrals (Rule 35).

Senator Gearty presented the attached reports of the subcommittee and MOVED their adoption. MOTION PREVAILED

Senator Davies, Chairman of the Subcommittee on Permanent Senate Rules was recognized. He said the subcommittee was recommending that the temporary rules for the 71st session as adopted by the Senate on January 3, 1979 be the permanent rules of the Senate for the 71st session subject to the amendments as adopted by the subcommittee to Rules 65, 72, 73 and 74. (See copy attached)

SENATOR DAVIES MOVED adoption of the amendments adopted by the subcommittee. MOTION PREVAILED

Senator Davies presented an amendment to Rule 55 which had been prepared by Mr. Wattson at the request of the subcommittee. Mr. Flahaven had raised a question about signing of bills if the President of the Senate was not able to do so during the interim period.

SENATOR DAVIES MOVED to amend Rule 55 as follows: Add a sentence to read:

"When the Senate is not in session, upon a finding by the committee on Rules and Administration that the President refuses or is unable to sign any of the documents described in this rule, the chairman of

These Senate Rules Committee minutes show committee actions on a resolution related to legislator compensation. The pertinent resolution follows the minutes. Additional details are provided at https://www.leg.state.mn.us/lrl/histleg/salary

the committee on Rules and Administration or some other member selected by the committee shall assume the duties of the President under this rule until the President is able to sign the documents described or until the Senate elects a new President, whichever occurs first."

A question was raised as to whether or not the amendment met the requirements of the constitutional provisions relating to the enrollment of bills. Mr. Wattson responded the constitution provides that upon the refusal to sign the office of the President would become vacant...the amendment to the rule would take care of this situation as well as a situation where the President of the Senate would be unable to sign because of illness or disability.

SENATOR DAVIES MOVED adoption of the amendment to Rule 55.
MOTION PREVAILED

Senators Jensen and Ashbach indicated they would have some amendments to the rules to offer on the floor of the Senate. One amendment would be that "no new matter can be added in a conference committee" and secondly an amendment to the rules would be offered to provide for more adequate notice when important matters are to be discussed on the floor of the Senate.

SENATOR DAVIES MOVED that the rules as amended be recommended to the full Senate for adoption. MOTION PREVAILED

The committee next had before it a resolution relating to mileage and per diem living expenses.

SENATOR HANSON MOVED adoption of the resolution.

It was pointed out that the \$27 per day per diem in some instances was not sufficient to pay for the increase in housing and energy costs for those members moving from their place of residence to St. Paul for the session. The Chairman said he had discussed this resolution with House leadership and they all recognized the problems involved. Attention was directed to Section 3.101 M. S. A suggestion was made that the Chairman appoint a committee from the IR Caucus and the DFL Caucus to look into this matter and see if they could come up with a solution.

After further discussion the following committee was appointed: SENATORS HANSON, OLSON, FREDERICK AND OGDAHL. Senator Hanson was to Chair the committee.

The question was called for on the motion of Senator Hanson to adopt the resolution relating to mileage and per diem living expenses. MOTION PREVAILED

The Chairman next called attention to the committee resolution relating to compensation of Senate leadership positions reading as follows:

"BE IT RESOLVED, by the Committee on Rules and Administration of the Senate of the State of Minnesota:

The Senate leadership positions that will receive 140 percent of the compensation of other members pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, 1978, Sec. 3.099, Subd. 3 for the years 1979-1980 are the Majority and Minority Leaders of the Senate; the Chairman of the Finance Committee beginning in January of 1979 and every second month thereafter; the Chairman of the Committee on Taxes and Tax Laws beginning in February of 1979 and every second month thereafter."

SENATOR HANSON MOVED adoption of the committee resolution. MOTION PREVAILED

SENATOR GEARTY MOVED adoption of the employee resolution before the committee. MOTION PREVAILED

Pursuant to Senate tradition a Memorial Service is held every two years in honor of members of the Senate who have passed away during the two-year period. The suggested date for the Memorial Service is February 19, 1979.

SENATOR GEARTY MOVED Memorial Services be held on February 19, 1979. MOTION PREVAILED

Chairman Coleman said the Senate would session at 10 A. M., complete the business at the desk and have the Memorial Service about 10:30 A. M.

Meeting adjourned at 11:05 A. M.

Respectfully submitted,

Senator Nicholas D. Coleman

Chairman

Committee on Rules and Administration

J/ attachs.

A Senate committee resolution relating to compensation of Senate leadership positions.

BE IT RESOLVED, by the Committee on Rules and Administration of the Senate of the state of Minnesota:

The Senate leadership positions that will receive 140 percent of the compensation of other members pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, 1978, Sec. 3.099, Subd. 3 for the years 1979-1980 are the Majority and Minority Leaders of the Senate; the Chairman of the Finance Committee beginning in January of 1979 and every second month thereafter; the Chairman of the Committee on Taxes and Tax Laws beginning in February of 1979 and every second month thereafter.

ADOPTED BY THE COMMITTEE ON RULES AND ADMINISTRATION

February 13, 1979

Senator N. D. Coleman

Chairman

Committee on Rules and Administration