MINUTES

COMMITTEE ON RULES AND LEGISLATIVE ADMINISTRATION

The twenty-eighth meeting of the Committee on Rules and Legislative Administration was held on Monday, January 28, 1980 at 12 Noon in Room 95 of the State Office Building. Rep. Willis Eken presided.

All members were present.

Rep. Eken welcomed the members and introduced the staff.

Item 1 (attached)--Temporary Rules of the House. Rep. Sieben moved adoption of the Resolution. Discussion. Rep. Voss moved to amend the resolution at the end of Section A by adding: "as the temporary rules for the remainder of the 71st Session." Rep. Irv Anderson moved to amend the proposed amendment by deleting the words "hereby adopted as". Discussion. The motion to amend the amendment was not adopted. The Voss amendment to the Resolution was adopted. The Resolution, as amended, was adopted.

<u>Item 2 (attached)--leadership compensation</u>. Rep. Sieben moved to delay the resolution. Discussion. Rep. Voss moved adoption of the Resolution. The matter was delayed for consideration during a recess.

<u>Item 3 (attached)--High School Page Program</u>. Rep. Heinitz moved adoption of the Resolution. The motion prevailed.

<u>Item 4 (attached)--Intern Program</u>. Discussion. It was decided to add the words "a member of" after the word "for" in line 5. Rep. Schreiber moved adoption of the Resolution. Rep. Doug Carlson moved to further amend the resolution by striking the words "college enrolled" at the end of line 4. Discussion. The question was called for on the Carlson amendment and a roll call requested by Rep. Anderson, I. The roll call was as follows:

| AYES: | Anderson, I. Carlson, D. Faricy Forsythe | Mann Munger Norton Sieben |
|-------|--|--|
| | Friedrich Laidig | Eken |
| NAYS: | Anderson, G. Anderson, R. Berglin Clark Dempsey Heinitz Johnson Knickerbocker | Luknic Nelsen Schreiber Searle Swanson Voss Weaver |

There being 11 ayes and 15 nays, the motion was defeated. Rep. Schreiber moved adoption of the Resolution and the motion prevailed.

Item 5 (attached)--Appointments and Terminations. Rep. Voss moved adoption of that addition to the Personnel Report. The motion prevailed.

The Committee was recessed until 1:30 PM.

These House Rules Committee minutes show committee actions on a resolution related to legislator compensation. The pertinent resolution follows the minutes. Additional details are provided at https://www.leg.state.mn.us/lrl/histleg/salary

An er reconvening, the Committee again took up the Resolution relating to leadership compensation. Voss withdrew his motion for adoption.

Rep. Norton moved adoption of a resolution (Item 6 attached) suspending the March 14, 1979 resolution on leadership compensation. The motion prevailed.

Rep. Bruce Nelsen moved approval of the minutes from the previous meeting as submitted by the Clerk. The motion prevailed.

Meeting adjourned at 1:50 PM.

Joan Sweeney, Clerk

Willis R. Eken, Chairman

Committee Resolution

BE IT RESOLVED, by the Committee on Rules and Legislative Administration, that pursuant to Minnesota Statutes 1978, Section 3.099, Subdivision 3, the following leadership positions are hereby designated to receive compensation as described below, effective the start of the 1980 legislative session:

1. The Speaker and the Chairman of the Committee on Rules and Legislative Administration are each designated to receive 140 percent of the compensation of other members.

2. The I-R House Caucus Leader is designated to receive 125 percent and the I-R House Floor Leader is designated to receive 115 percent of the compensation of other members commencing in February, 1980.

ADOPTED: January 28, 1980

Willis R. Eken, Chairman

А

withdrawn



Committee Resolution

BE IT RESOLVED, by the Committee on Rules and Legislative Administration, that effective January 31, 1980, the Resolution dated March 14 1979, adopted pursuant to Minnesota Statutes 1978, Section 3.099, Subdivision 3, by the Committee on Rules and Legislative Administration is suspended.

ADOPTED: January 28, 1980

Willis R. Eken, Chairman

COMMITTEE ON RULES AND LEGISLATIVE ADMINISTRATION

Committee Resolution

BE IT RESOLVED, by the Committee on Rules and Legislative Administration, that pursuant to Minnesota Statutes 1978, Section 3.099, Subdivision 3, the following leadership positions are hereby designated to receive compensation as described below, effective the start of the 1979 legislative session:

1. The Speaker and the Chairman of the Committee on Rules and Legislative Administration are each designated to receive 140 percent of the compensation of other members.

2. The House Floor Leader and the I-R Caucus Leader are designated, on alternate months, to receive 140 percent of the compensation of other members commencing in January 1979 with the House Floor Leader.

ADOPTED: March 14, 1979

Irvin N. Anderson, Chairman