## MINUTES

## COMMITTEE ON RULES AND LEGISLATIVE ADMINISTRATION

The Second meeting of the Committee on Rules and Legislative Administration was called to order at 11:30 AM on Thursday, February 26, 1981 in Room 95 of the State Office Building. Members present were:

Anderson, I. Munger Sieben, M. Anderson, R. Nelsen. Simoneau Brinkman Norton Swanson Carlson, D. Novak Vanasek Forsythe Rice Weaver Friedrich Samuelson We1ker Schreiber Halberg Heinitz Sherwood Eken, Chairman Sieben, H. Johnson, C.

Members excused were: Knickerbocker and Mann. A quorum was present.

Rep. Johnson moved to approve the minutes as submitted by the Clerk. Motion carried.

Chairman Eken called the members' attention to a memorandum appointing a Subcommittee on Personnel, as follows:

Eken, Chairman Novak Sherwood Sieben, H. Welker

Resolution on Per Diem - Rep. Sieben, H., moved adoption. Discussion. The motion prevailed. (Resolution attached)

Resolution on Leadership Compensation - Rep. Simoneau moved adoption. Discussion. Rep. Rice moved a substitute motion to defer action on the leadership compensation until the next meeting. Discussion. A voice vote was taken and a division called for; there being 4 ayes and 20 nays, the substitute motion did not prevail. Rep. Anderson, R., moved to amend the resolution by including the words "up to" before "140 percent" in the resolution. The motion prevailed. The question recurred on the resolution, as amended. The motion prevailed and the resolution was adopted. (Resolution attached)

<u>Personnel Report</u> - Rep. Carlson moved adoption. The motion prevailed.

Congratulatory Resolution - Rep. Brinkman moved adoption. Motion carried.

Permanent Rules of the House - Discussion. Rep. Vanasek moved adoption. Discussion. Rep. Schreiber moved to correct a clerical error on page 27, line 33, by striking "March" and inserting "April". The motion prevailed and the amendment was adopted. Rep. Halberg moved to amend Rule 3.9 on Page 11, line 31 as follows: Add the following language, "Provided however, procedural and substantive changes shall not constitute a different subject." Discussion. The motion was defeated. Rep. Schreiber moved to amend the Rules of the House by adopting the language in an amendment numbered HHR6.13A relating to a Select Committee on the Budget. Discussion. The voice vote was taken and a division called for; there being 9 ayes and 14 nays, the motion was defeated. Rep. Schreiber moved to amend the Rules of the House by adopting additional language to Rule 3.10 relating to annexing other bills. Discussion. Rep. Schreiber requested a roll call vote. The voting was as follows:

These House Rules Committee minutes show committee actions on a resolution related to legislator compensation. The pertinent resolution follows the minutes. Additional details are provided at <a href="https://www.leg.state.mn.us/lrl/histleg/salary">https://www.leg.state.mn.us/lrl/histleg/salary</a>

Ayes: Carlson, Forsythe, Halberg, Heinitz, Nelsen, Schreiber, Sherwood,

Weaver, Welker

Nays: Anderson, I., Anderson, R., Johnson, Munger, Norton, Novak,

Rice, Samuelson, Sieben, H., Sieben, M., Simoneau, Swanson,

Vanasek, Eken

There being 9 ayes and 14 mays, the motion did not prevail.

Rep. Schreiber moved to amend the House Rules by adopting additional language to Rule 1.16 adding the words "the passage of" and "the passage of the bill" in lines 17 and 18 of page 6 of the printout of the rules. Discussion. The motion was defeated.

The question recurred on the Vanasek motion to adopt the permenent rules of the House as amended. The motion prevailed.

Willis R. Eken, Chairman

Joan Sweeney, Clerk

## COMMITTEE ON RULES AND LEGISLATIVE ADMINISTRATION

## RESOLUTION

BE IT RESOLVED, by the Committee on Rules and Legislative Administration, that pursuant to Minnesota Statutes 1980, Section 3.099, Subdivision 3, the following leadership positions are hereby designated to receive compensation as described below, effective the start of the 1981 Legislative Session:

The Speaker of the House, the Chairman of the Committee on Rules and Legislative Administration, and the House Minority Leader are each designated to receive 140 percent of the compensation of other members.

• תביחת העוג

February 29. 198]

Willis R. Eken. Chairman