COMMITTEE ON RULES AND LEGISLATIVE ADMINISTRATION

The second meeting of the Committee on Rules and Legislative Administration was called to order by Representative Robert Vanasek, Chairman, at 1:45 p.m. on Tuesday, January 13, 1987 in Room 400 North, State Office Building.

The clerk noted the roll. Members present:

Anderson G. Blatz Himle Jacobs Knickerbocker Long Minne Munger Nelson, K. Norton Otis Pappas Redalen Reding Rice Riveness Schoenfeld Schreiber Simoneau Thiede Valento Vanasek, Chairman Voss

A quorum was present.

1 ......

Representative Minne moved that the minutes of Wednesday, January 7, 1987, be adopted. The <u>MOTION PREVAILED</u>.

The first matter under consideration was the Leadership Differential Resolution (see Attachment A). Representative Valento moved adoption of the resolution. The <u>MOTION PREVAILED</u>.

Next under consideration was the Temporary Budgets for Standing Committees Resolution (see Attachment B). Representative Knickerbocker moved adoption of the resolution. The <u>MOTION</u> <u>PREVAILED</u>.

Next under consideration was the Telephone Credit Cards Resolution (see Attachment C). Representative Simoneau moved adoption of the resolution. The MOTION PREVAILED.

Next under consideration was the Compensation for the Chaplain Resolution (see Attachment D).

Representative Riveness moved to amend the resolution as follows:

Page 1, after "day." insert "The Chaplain of the House shall, in addition, receive an honorarium of \$1,000 per annum."

The MOTION PREVAILED and the amendment was adopted.

Representative Rice moved adoption of the resolution. The MOTION PREVAILED.

Representative Clark, chief author of House Concurrent Resolution No. 1, explained the resolution as follows:

HCR 1: Protesting the use of the Minnesota National Guard in Central America; encouraging efforts to legally contest the mandatory deployment by the federal government of the Minnesota National Guard in foreign countries without state assent.

Representative Pappas moved to amend HCR 1 as follows:

Page 2, line 16, after "America" insert "except in cases of natural disaster, or in cases of the transportation of humanitarian medical supplies"

The MOTION PREVAILED and the amendment was adopted.

Rules Committee Minutes Tuesday, January 13, 1987

Testimony in favor of the resolution was presented by the following:

- 1) Jack Tunheim, Chief Deputy to the Attorney General, 102 State Capitol
- 2) Andy Dawkins, Lawyer (representing Center for Constitutional Rights), 767 University Ave., St. Paul, MN 55104
- 3) Tom O'Connell, Professor, Metropolitan State University 3428 Bryant Ave. So., Minneapolis, MN 55408
- 4) Representative K. J. McDonald, 273 State Office Building

Representative Pappas moved that HCR 1, as amended, be recommended to pass. The MOTION PREVAILED.

Representative McLaughlin, chief author of House Resolution No. 1, explained the resolution as follows:

Requiring the establishment of an affirmative HR 1: action plan and designating an affirmative action officer.

Representative Anderson moved to amend HR 1 as follows:

Page 1, line 9, delete "in Vietnam"

The MOTION PREVAILED and the amendment was adopted.

Representative Minne moved that HR 1, as amended, be recommended to pass. The MOTION PREVAILED.

Next under consideration was the Himle resolution relating to entering or taking possession of property in members' offices.

Chairman Robert Vanasek announced the creation of a Subcommittee on Future Transitions. Members appointed to the subcommittee are as follows:

Minne, Chair Anderson Nelson Blatz Himle

Chairman Vanasek further stated that Larry Bothwell, Staff Director; Andy Remke, Chief Sergeant at Arms and Paul Hess, Assistant to the Minority Leader, should be ready to make themselves available to the subcommittee during its deliberations.

After discussion on this matter, Representative Himle withdrew his resolution.

Chairman Vanasek announced the creation of a Subcommittee on Election Disputes and Recounts. Members appointed to the subcommittee are as follows:

Otis, Chairman Riveness Knickerbocker

The meeting adjourned at 3:35 p.m.

anas

Vanasek, Chairman Robert E.

aura M. se Laura M. DeRose, Committee Clerk

## ATTACHMENT A

## COMMITTEE ON RULES AND LEGISLATIVE ADMINISTRATION

BE IT RESOLVED, by the Committee on Rules and Legislative Administration, that pursuant to Minnesota Statutes 1986, Section 3.099, Subdivision 3, the following leadership positions are hereby designated to receive compensation as designated below effective January 5, 1987:

The Speaker of the House, the Chairman of the Committee on Rules and Legislative Administration, and the House Minority Leader are each designated to receive up to 140 percent of the compensation of other members.

ADOPTED: January 13, 1987

Robert E. Vanasek, Chairman

These House Rules Committee minutes show committee actions on a resolution related to legislator compensation. The pertinent resolution follows the minutes. Additional details are provided at <a href="https://www.leg.state.mn.us/lrl/histleg/salary">https://www.leg.state.mn.us/lrl/histleg/salary</a>