STATE OF MINNESOTA HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

FIRST MEETING

COMMITTEE ON RULES AND LEGISLATIVE ADMINISTRATION

The first meeting of the Committee on Rules and Legislative Administration was called to order by Representative Dee Long, at 3:30 p.m., Thursday, January 10, 1991.

The clerk noted the role. Members present:

Begich Carlson Greenfield Hugoson Johnson, A. Krueger Ogren Rest Simoneau Vanasek Valento Blatz Dempsey Gruenes Jacobs Knickerbocker Long, Chair Olsen, S. Rice Trimble Vellenga

Members excused:

Munger Rodosovich Nelson, K.

A quorum was present.

The first matter under consideration was the Adoption of House Resolutions (attachment 2). Representative Rice moved adoption of the House Resolutions as presented.

THE MOTION PREVAILED

Next under consideration was the Personnel Report (attachment 1) as presented by Larry Bothwell, Staff Director. Representative Simoneau moved adoption of the Personnel Report as presented.

THE MOTION PREVAILED

The next item under consideration were the Permanent Rules of the House (attachment 3). Representative Long moved to amend the proposed permanent rules of the House (91-0524) as follows:

Page 2, line 7, after "committees" insert "on House bills"

Page 2, line 8, after "time" insert "<u>except when the House</u> is in the Committee of the Whole."

THE MOTION PREVAILED

Representative Simoneau moved adoption of the Permanent Rules of the House as amended.

THE MOTION PREVAILED

The meeting adjourned at 3:50 p.

| p.m. | Lanz | | |
|-----------|---------|---|---|
| Dee Long, | Chair / | | |
| Α. | A' | • | Δ |

Gerrie Canfield, Clerk

These House Rules Committee minutes show committee actions on a resolution related to legislator compensation. The pertinent resolution follows the minutes. Additional details are provided at https://www.leg.state.mn.us/Irl/histleg/salary

COMMITTEE ON RULES AND LEGISLATIVE ADMINISTRATION

BE IT RESOLVED, by the Committee on Rules and Legislative Administration, that pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, 1990, Section 3.099, Subdivision 3, the following leadership positions are hereby designated to receive compensation as designated below effective January 8, 1991:

The Speaker of the House, the Chair of the Committee on Rules and Legislative Administration, and the House Minority Leader are each designated to receive up to 140 percent of the compensation of other members.

Dee Long, Chair

<u>1-10-91</u> Date