STATE OF MINNESOTA HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

RULES AND LEGISLATIVE ADMINISTRATION COMMITTEE

MINUTES

Representative Erin Murphy, Chair of the Rules and Legislative Administration Committee, called the meeting to order at 3:32 on Monday, January 14, 2013, in Room Basement of the State Office Building.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll.

Members present:

MURPHY, Erin (Chair) BENSON, John (Vice-Chair) ALBRIGHT, Tony ANDERSON, Sarah CARLSON, Lyndon, Sr. DAUDT, Kurt DEAN, Matt ERHARDT, Ron HANSEN, Rick HILSTROM, Debra HOPPE, Joe HORTMAN, Melissa JOHNSON, Sheldon KELLY, Tim LENCZEWSKI, Ann LILLIE, Leon LOON, Jenifer MELIN, Carly NORTON, Kim PELOWSKI, Gene PEPPIN, Joyce PERSELL, John SANDERS, Tim TORKELSON, Paul WARD, John WOODARD, Kelby ZELLERS, Kurt

1 member was excused. LESCH, John

A quorum was present.

Chair Murphy welcomed the committee members and asked each member and staff to introduce themselves.

Representative Hansen moved Employee Listing and Miscellaneous Personnel Reports. Kelly Knight, Director of Minnesota House of Representatives Human Resources Department, testified on Employee Listing and Miscellaneous Personnel Reports. THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Representative Hansen moved 2013 HR-P1, Policy on Service Award Program. Kelly Knight, Director of Minnesota House of Representatives Human Resources Department testified on the resolution. THE MOTION PREVAILED.

These House Rules Committee minutes show committee actions on a resolution related to legislator compensation. The pertinent resolution follows the minutes. Additional details are provided at https://www.leg.state.mn.us/lrl/histleg/salary

Representative Hansen moved 2013 HR-P2, Policy on Donated Vacation Time. Kelly Knight, Director of Minnesota House of Representatives Human Resources Department testified on the resolution. THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Representative Carlson moved 2013 HR-P3, Policy on Compensation Time and Timecard Policy.

Kelly Knight, Director of Minnesota House of Representatives Human Resources Department testified on the resolution. THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Representative Hansen moved 2013 – P1, Policy on the Payment of Per Diem Living Expenses during Interims.

Jim Reinholdz, Controller of Minnesota House of Representatives Budget and Accounting Department testified on the resolution. THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Representative Carlson moved 2013 – R1, Resolution on House Chaplain. Jim Reinholdz, Controller of Minnesota House of Representatives Budget and Accounting Department testified on the resolution. THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Representative Persell moved 2013 – R2, Resolution on Leadership Compensation. Jim Reinholdz, Controller of Minnesota House of Representatives Budget and Accounting Department testified on the resolution. THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Representative Hansen moved 2013 – R3, Resolution on Expense Reimbursement. Jim Reinholdz, Controller of Minnesota House of Representatives Budget and Accounting Department testified on the resolution. THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Representative Hansen moved 2013 – R4, Resolution on Member's Personalized Stationary Allocation.

Jim Reinholdz, Controller of Minnesota House of Representatives Budget and Accounting Department testified on the resolution. THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Representative Persell moved 2013 – R5, Resolution on Postage. Jim Reinholdz, Controller of Minnesota House of Representatives Budget and Accounting Department testified on the resolution. THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Representative Hansen moved 2013 – R6, Resolution on Reimbursement of Member Communications Expenses.

Jim Reinholdz, Controller of Minnesota House of Representatives Budget and Accounting Department testified on the resolution. THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Representative Carlson moved 2013 – R7, Resolution on Administration of High School Page Program.

Jim Reinholdz, Controller of Minnesota House of Representatives Budget and Accounting Department testified on the resolution. THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Representative Melin moved 2013 – R8, Resolution on Photographic Equipment Usage Credit.

Jim Reinholdz, Controller of Minnesota House of Representatives Budget and Accounting Department testified on the resolution. THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Representative Hansen moved 2013 - R9, Resolution on the Payment of Legal Fees and Expenses.

Jim Reinholdz, Controller of Minnesota House of Representatives Budget and Accounting Department testified on the resolution. THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Representative Carlson moved 2013 – R11, Resolution on Committee and Minority Caucus Budgets.

Jim Reinholdz, Controller of Minnesota House of Representatives Budget and Accounting Department testified on the resolution. THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Representative Daudt moved PM – RES A01. Representative Rod Hamilton testified on the resolution. Representative Daudt requested a roll call vote: AYE: ALBRIGHT, Tony ANDERSON, Sarah DAUDT, Kurt DEAN, Matt HOPPE, Joe KELLY, Tim LOON, Jenifer PEPPIN, Joyce SANDERS, Tim TORKELSON, Paul WOODARD, Kelby ZELLERS, Kurt

NAY: MURPHY, Erin BENSON, John CARLSON, Lyndon ERHARDT, Ron HANSEN, Rick HILSTROM, Debra HORTMAN, Melissa JOHNSON, Sheldon LENCZEWSKI, Ann LILLIE, Leon MELIN, Carly NORTON, Kim PELOWSKI, Gene PERSELL, John WARD, John

THE RESOLUTION WAS NOT ADOPTED

The meeting was adjourned at 5:06PM.

REP. Erin Murphy, CHAIR

Emily Nachtigal, Committee Legislative Assistant

1	COMMITTEE ON RULES AND LEGISLATIVE ADMINISTRATION
2 3	Resolution on Leadership Compensation
<u> </u>	
5	BE IT RESOLVED, by the Committee on Rules and Legislative Administration, that
6	pursuant to Minnesota Statutes2012, section 3.099, subdivision 3, the following leadership
7	positions are designated to receive the compensation indicated, effective January 8, 2013.
8	The Speaker of the House, the Chair of the Committee on Rules and Legislative
9	Administration and the House Minority Leader are each designated to receive 140 percent of the
(10	compensation of other members.
	Date: 1/14/2013
	Signed:

ERIN MURPHY, CHAIR