What percentage of incumbent legislators are returned to office during each election? (or-- What percentage of Minnesota legislators who run for re-election win?)

Year	1976	Body House
	134 19 115	Total number of legislators  Number of incumbents who did not run  Number of incumbents who ran
	24 19 5	Total number of new legislators after election  Number of incumbents who did not run  Number of incumbents who were defeated
	115 5 110	Incumbents ran Incumbents defeated Incumbents won
		nbents who won
X = th	e percent o	of incumbents who ran and were re-elected

What percentage of incumbent legislators are returned to office during each election? (or -- What percentage of Minnesota legislators who run for re-election win?)

67	Total number of legislators
	Number of incumbents who did not run
<u> 55</u>	Number of incumbents who ran
_20	Total number of new legislators after election  Number of incumbents who did not run  13 Yad 75 Legislative  superiors  7 previously served in the
- 12	Number of incumbents who did not run  7 previously served in the
- 8	Number of incumbents who were defeated 7 in the general election  1 in the primary
<i>5</i>	
	Incumbents ran
- 8	Incumbents defeated
= <u>47</u>	Incumbents won
Number of incun	1 bents who won

X = the percent of incumbents who ran and were re-elected

X = 85.5 %

## Incumbent Senators not seeking reelection - 1976

IR - 7, DFL - 5, Total - 12

#### IR

Jerome Blatz
Robert Brown
Richard Fitzsimmons
Roger Hanson
Lew Larson
John Olson
Joseph T. O'Neill

#### DFL

Norbert Arnold George Conzemius Ralph R. Doty Robert North Tony "A.J." Perpich

# SENATE - Incumbent Senators defeated in the 1976 Elections

DFL - 1, IR - 6, Independent - 1

#### **Primary Election:**

DFL - 1

Baldy Hansen

#### General election:

IR - 6, Independent - 1

Charles Berg (Independent)

Mel Hansen (IR)

J. A. Josefson

Al Kowalczyk (IR)

Rolf Nelson (IR)

John M. Patton (IR)

J. Robert Stassen (IR)

## SENATE - Newly Elected Members after the 1976 Elections

IR - 3, DFL - 17, Total - 20

#### IR

Steve Engler
Ron Sieloff (was formerly a Representative)
James Ulland (was formerly a Representative)

#### DFL

Robert Benedict
Neil Dieterich (was formerly a Representative)
Jerome Gunderson
Marv Hanson
Doug Johnson (was formerly a Representative)
Franklin Knoll (was formerly a Representative)
Bob Lessard
William Luther (was formerly a Representative)
Mike Menning (was formerly a Representative)

Tom Nelson Jim Nichols Tim Penny

Collin Peterson

Gerry Sikorski

**Emily Staples** 

Roger Strand

Conrad Vega

## Incumbent Representatives who did not run in the 1976 Elections

IR - 5, DFL - 14, Total - 19

#### IR

Rep. Salisbury Adams (42B)

Rep. Frank DeGroat (10A) Ran for Senate #10

Rep. Ralph Jopp (36A)

Rep. Ron Sieloff (63B)

Rep. Jim Ulland (8B)

Ran for Senate #8

#### **DFL**

Rep. Roy Carlson (14A)

Filed for the Senate, and tried to get back into the House race, but could not. (See articles following.)

Rep. Neil Dietrich (62A)

Rep. Gary Doty (8A)

Rep. Joseph Graba (10B)

Went to the Education Department

Rep. Doug Johnson (6B) Ran for Senate #6

Rep. Marvin Ketola (14B)

Rep. Frank Knoll (61A)
Rep. John C. Lindstrom (21A)
Rep. William Luther (45B)
Ran for Senate #61
Ran for Senate #45

Rep. Claudia Meier (18A)

Rep. Mike Menning (26A) Ran for Senate #26

Rep. Richard Parish (43B) Went to the Public Service Commission

Rep. Howard Smith (13B)

Rep. Bruce Vento (66A) Ran for Congress

# House- Incumbent representatives defeated in the 1976 elections: Total=5 None were defeated in the primary election. General Election:

Ronald Evans (29A)

Maurice McCauley (34B)

Burnham Philbrook (48B)

William Schreiber (45A)

Wayne Schmacher (15A)

### HOUSE - Newly Elected Members after the 1976 Elections

IR - 7, DFL - 17, Total - 24

#### IR

Bob Anderson (10B)
Delbert Anderson (15A)
Douglas Carlson (14A)
James Evans (10A)
Ken McDonald (36A)
John Rose (48B)
Robert Searles (42B)

#### DFL

Buzz Anderson (26A) David Battaglia (6B) Thomas Berkelman (8B) John Brandl (61A) Richard Cohen (63B) David Cummiskey (29A) Robert Ellingson (45B) C.L. "Shorty" Gunter (21A) Dwayne King (43B) Arlene Lehto (8A) Mary Murphy (14B) M.B. "Doc" Nelson (13B) Linda Scheid (45A) Tom Stoa (34B) Eugene Waldorf (66A) Richard Welch (18A) Ann Wynia (62A)