What percentage of incumbent legislators are returned to office during each election? (or-- What percentage of Minnesota legislators who run for re-election win?)

Elect Year	1982	Body Senate
	67 15 52	Total number of legislators  Number of incumbents who did not run  Number of incumbents who ran
	21 15 6	Total number of new legislators after election  Number of incumbents who did not run  Number of incumbents who were defeated
	52 6 46	Incumbents ran Incumbents defeated Incumbents won
		mbents who won

X = the percent of incumbents who ran and were re-elected

x = 88.5 %

What percentage of incumbent legislators are returned to office during each election? (or-- What percentage of Minnesota legislators who run for re-election win?)

Vear 1982	Body Douse			
	Total number of legislators  Number of incumbents who did not run  Number of incumbents who ran			
<u>42</u> - <u>35</u> - <u>7</u>	Total number of new legislators after election  Number of incumbents who did not run  Number of incumbents who were defeated			
99 7 92	Incumbents ran Incumbents defeated Incumbents won			
Number of incumbents who won 99 = x  Number of incumbents who ran 99 = 100				

X = the percent of incumbents who ran and were re-elected

X = 92,9 0/2

## SENATE - Newly Elected Members after the 1982 Elections TOTAL=21

Betty Adkins, 22. Don A. Anderson, 12. Gary DeCramer, 27. A.W. Diessner, 56. Michael Freeman, 40. Doran Isackson, 28. Dean Johnson, 15. Tad Jude, 48. Fritz Knaak, 53. Gary Laidig, 55. Phyllis McQuaid, 44. Lyle Mehrkens, 26. Steven Novak, 52. Gen Olson, 43. Donna Peterson, 61. Larry Pogemiller, 58. Embeer Reichgott, 46. Don Samuelson, 13. LeRoy Stumpf, 1. Donald Storm, 42. Darril Wegscheid, 37.

Incumbent Senators who did not run in the 1982 Elections TOTAL=15

Robert Ashbach, 48, retired.
Otto Bang, 39, retired.
Marv Hanson, 1, retired.
Hubert Humphrey III, 44, ran for Attorney General.
John Keefe, 40, retired.
Franklin Knoll, 61, retired.
Steve Lindgren, 37, ran for state House of Representatives.
Marion (Mike) Menning, 26, retired.
Timothy Penny, 30, ran for Congress.
George S. Pillsbury, 42, retired.
A.O.H. Setzepfandt, 21, retired.
Gerry Sikorski, 51, ran for Congress.
Irving Stern, 41, ran for state Treasurer.
Peter Stumpf, 64, retired.
Robert Tennessen, 56, retired.

Incumbent Senators who were defeated in the 1982 Elections TOTAL=6

Defeated in a primary:

Anne Stokowski, 55. Jack Davies, 60.

Defeated in the general election:

Steve Engler, 25. Wayne Olhoft, 11. Dave Rued, 13. Myrton Wegener, 12. Incumbent Representatives who did not run in the 1982 Elections TOTAL=35

Paul Aasness, 11A, retired. John Ainley, 4A, retired. George Dahlvang, 54A, retired. William Dean, 58A, retired. Douglas Ewald, 40A, retired. Walter Hanson, 62B, retired. Thomas J. Harens, 65B, retired. Shirley Hokanson, 37A, retired. Carl Johnson, 23B, retired. Dean Johnson, 21A, ran for state Senate. Tad Jude, 42A, ran for state Senate. John R. Kaley, 33A, retired. Gary Laidig, 51A, ran for state Senate. Arlene Lehto, 8A, ran for state Senate. Paul McCarron, 46A, retired. Lyle Mehrkens, 25B, ran for state Senate. Bruce Nelsen, 12A, retired. Joseph Niehaus, 16A, retired. Steven Novak, 48A, ran for state Senate. Myron Nysether, 1A, retired. Bill Peterson, 38B, retired. Donna Peterson, 60B, ran for state Senate. Larry Pogemiller, 55A, ran for state Senate. Leo J. Reding, 31B, retired. Tom Rees, 36B, ran for state Senate. Elliot Rothenberg, 41B, ran for Attorney General. Don Samuelson, 13A, ran for state Senate. Robert Searles, 42B, retired. Glen Sherwood, 4B, retired. Michael Sieben, 51B, retired. Warren Stowell, 34A, retired. Leroy Stumpf, 1B, ran for state Senate. John Weaver, 19B, ran for state Senate. Al W. Wieser, Jr., 35B, retired. Kenneth Zubay, 33B, retired.

Incumbent Representatives who were defeated in the 1982 Elections TOTAL=7

Defeated in a primary:

Peggy Byrne, 64B.

Defeated in the general election:

Irv Anderson, 3A.
John Drew, 63B.
Gilbert Esau, 28A.
Earl Hauge, 15A.
Robert Lemen, 3B.
Marnie Luknic, 24B.

## HOUSE - Newly Elected Members after the 1982 Elections \*\*TOTAL=42

Patrick Beard, 56B Tony Bennett, 53A Don Bergstrom, 18B David Bishop, 33B John Burger, 43A Richard Cohen, 64B Sharon Coleman, 51A Chuck Dimler, 36A Gary Findlay, 11A Jerry Graba, 12A Gil Gutknecht, 33A Chuck Hoffman, 55B Bob Jensen, 36B Virgil Johnson, 34A Daniel Knuth, 52B Rick Krueger, 12B Earnest Larsen, 50A Bert McKasy, 39A Darby Nelson, 49A Bob Neuenschwander, 3A Ben Omann, 16A Sidney Pauly, 42A Jerome Peterson, 18A Pat Piper, 31B Leonard Price, 56A Joe Quinn, 50B Allen Quist, 23B Phillip Riveness, 40B Peter Rodosovich, 25B Linda Scheid, 47A Arthur Seaberg, 38B Gloria Segal, 44B Craig Shaver, 45A Loren Solberg, 3B Wally Sparby, 1B Doug St. Onge, 4A Paul Thiede, 13A Jim Tunheim, 1A Sylvester Uphus, 15A Bob Waltman, 26B Alan Welle, 15B Maurice Zaffke, 4B

\* This number includes members who served earlier and then had a gap in service