What percentage of incumbent legislators are returned to office during each election? (or-- What percentage of Minnesota legislators who run for re-election win?)

Year	1986	Body Senate
	67 7 60	Total number of legislators  Number of incumbents who did not run  Number of incumbents who ran
	10 7 3	Total number of new legislators after election  Number of incumbents who did not run  Number of incumbents who were defeated
	60 3 57	Incumbents ran Incumbents defeated Incumbents won
		abents who won 57 = X abents who ran 60 = 100

X = the percent of incumbents who ran and were re-elected

X = 950/0

What percentage of incumbent legislators are returned to office during each election? (or-- What percentage of Minnesota legislators who run for re-election win?)

Year	1986	Body Douse
	134 15 119	Total number of legislators  Number of incumbents who did not run  Number of incumbents who ran
	32 15 17	Total number of new legislators after election  Number of incumbents who did not run  Number of incumbents who were defeated
1  = 1	19	Incumbents ran Incumbents defeated Incumbents won
		nbents who won

X = the percent of incumbents who ran and were re-elected

SENATE - Newly Elected Members after the 1986 Elections TOTAL=10

Tracy Beckman, 29
John Brandl, 62
Richard J. Cohen, 64
David J. Frederickson, 20
Cal Larson, 10
John J. Marty, 63
James Metzen, 39
Steven Morse, 34
Pat Piper, 31
Jim M. Vickerman, 28

Incumbent Senators who did not run in the 1986 Elections TOTAL=7

Neil Dieterich, 63, retired.
Tom A. Nelson, 31, retired.
Collin Peterson, 10, ran for Congress.
Darrel Peterson, 29, retired.
Eric Petty, 62, retired.
Ronald Sieloff, 64, retired.
Conrad Vega, 39, retired.

Incumbent Senators who were defeated in 1986 Elections
 TOTAL=3

No senators were defeated in primary elections

Defeated in the general election: Doran Isackson, 28. Randy Kamrath, 20. Patricia Kronebusch, 34. HOUSE - Newly Elected Members after the 1986 Elections TOTAL=32

Jerry Bauerly, 18B. Jeff Bertram, 16B. Phil Carruthers, 47B. Roger M. Cooper, 21B. Marvin Dauner, 9B. Norman DeBlieck, 27A. Stephen Dille, 21A. John Dorn, 24A. Gene Hugoson, 29A. Richard Jefferson, 57B. Bob Jensen, 36B. Alice M. Johnson, 51A. Bob A. Johnson, 4A. Becky Kelso, 36A. Anthony Kinkel, 4B. Kenneth Kludt, 9A. Ernest A. Larsen, 50A. Harold Lasley, 19A. Bob Milbert, 39B. Connie Morrison, 38A. Clair A. Nelson, 11B. Katy Olson, 28B. Bernie Omann, 16A. Howard Orenstein, 64B. Gene Pelowski, 34B. Leo Reding, 31B. Tom Rukavina, 5A. Andy Steensma, 27B. Douglas Swenson, 55A. Steve Trimble, 67B. Jean Wagenius, 62B. Theodore Winter, 28A.

Incumbent Representatives who were defeated in 1986 Elections
 TOTAL=17

No representatives were defeated in primary elections.

Defeated in General Elections:

Gordon Backlund, 51A. Lynn H. Becklin, 19A Jim Boerboom, 27A. Joel Carlson, 9A. Gaylin DenOuden, 21B. Chuck Dimler, 36A. Carol Dyke, 28A. Wendell Erickson, 27B. David Fjoslien, 11B. Dennis C. Frederickson, 28B. John Hartinger, 50A. Ralph Kiffmeyer, 18B. Mark Piepho, 24A. Tom Rees, 36B. Tim Sherman, 34B. Ted Thorson, 4A. Merlyn Valan, 9B.

Incumbent Representatives who did not run in the 1986 Elections TOTAL=15

John Brandl, 62B, ran for state senate.
Bernard Brinkman, 16B, retired.
Richard Cohen, 64B, ran for state senate.
Dominic Elioff, 5A, retired.
Bob Ellingson, 47B, retired.
Charles C. Halberg, 38A, retired.
David M. Jennings, 29A, retired.
Adolph Kvam, 21A, retired.
Connie Levi, 55A, retired.
James Metzen, 39B, ran for state senate.
Ben Omann, 16A, deceased, no special election called.
Pat Piper, 31B, ran for state senate.
Randy Staten, 57B, retired.
John Tomlinson, 67B, retired.
Maurice Zaffke, 4B, retired.