What percentage of incumbent legislators are returned to office during each election? (or -- What percentage of Minnesota legislators who run for re-election win?)

Year <u>1992</u>

Senate Body _

6	7	Total number of legislators
		Number of incumbents who did not run
		Number of incumbents who ran

16	Total number of new legislators after election
- 12	Number of incumbents who did not run

Number of incumbents who were defeated 4

55

Incumbents ran

Incumbents defeated

Incumbents won

Number of incumbents who won 51 55 Number of incumbents who ran 100

X = the percent of incumbents who ran and were re-elected

X = 92.7%

Provided by the MINNESOTA LEGISLATIVE REFERENCE LIBRARY (651) 296-3398

What percentage of incumbent legislators are returned to office during each election? (or-- What percentage of Minnesota legislators who run for re-election win?)

Year 1992	Body Doure
· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	

- ______ Total number of legislators
- _____ Number of incumbents who did not run
- <u>//3</u> Number of incumbents who ran
- <u>33</u> Total number of new legislators after election
- _____ Number of incumbents who did not run
- $\underline{/2}$ Number of incumbents who were defeated
- _____ Incumbents ran
- <u>12</u> Incumbents defeated
- = <u>/ 0 /</u> Incumbents won

Number of incumbents who won/0/=XNumber of incumbents who ran//3=100

X = the percent of incumbents who ran and were re-elected

 $X = -\frac{89}{70}$

Provided by the MINNESOTA LEGISLATIVE REFERENCE LIBRARY (651) 296-3398 Incumbent Senators Who did not Run in the 1992 Elections IR - 6, DFL - 6, Total - 12

IR

John Bernhagen (21) Nancy Brataas (33) Jim Gustafson (8) Chuck Halberg (38) Fritz Knaak (53) Earl Renneke (35)

DFL

Greg Dahl (50) Gary DeCramer (27) Ron Dicklich (5) David Frederickson (23) Jerome John Hughes (54) Eugene Waldorf (66)

Incumbent Senators who were Defeated in the 1992 Elections Primary - 1 DFL General Election, IR - 1, DFL - 2 Total - 4

Primary Election

Don Frank (DFL, 48) He was defeated by Don Betzold, who went on to win the general election.

General Election IR - 1, DFL - 2

IR

Lyle Mehrkens (29)

DFL

Charles Davis (17) Judy Traub (45)

New Senators after the 1992 Elections IR - 8, DFL - 8, Total - 16

IR

Steve Dille (20) Sheila Kiscaden (30) Dave Knutson (36) Arlene Lesewski (21) Edward Oliver (43) Martha Robertson (45) *defeated an incumbent, Judy Traub* Linda Runbeck (53) Dan Stevens (17) *defeated an incumbent, Charles Davis*

DFL

Ellen Anderson (66) Don Betzold (48) defeated an incumbent in the primary, Don Frank Kevin Chandler (55) Paula Hanson (50) defeated an incumbent <u>Representative</u>, Phil Heir Jerry Janezich (5) Jane Krentz (51) Steve Murphy (29) defeated an incumbent, Lyle Mehrkens Deanna Wiener (38) defeated an incumbent <u>Representative</u>, Art Seaberg Incumbent Representatives who did not run in the 1992 Elections IR - 15, DFL - 6 : Total - 21

IR

Richard H. Anderson - Retired Terry Dempsey - Retired Steve Dille - Ran for State Senate and won Dean Hartle - Ran for other office Phil Heir - Ran for other office Paul Hufnagle - Retired Marcus Marsh - Retired Harriet A. McPherson - Retired Sally Olsen - Retired Bernie Omann - Ran for U.S. Congress and lost Linda Runbeck - Ran for State Senate and won Bill Schreiber - Ran for other office Art Seaberg - Ran for State Senate and lost Sylvester Uphus - Retired Ray Welker - Retired

DFL

Joseph Begich - Retired Jerry Janezich - Ran for other office Ken Nelson - Retired Paul Anders Ogren - Retired Linda Scheid - Retired Robert Vanasek - Retired Incumbent Representatives who were defeated in the 1992 elections TOTAL=12

Defeated in the primary:

Jeff Hanson, 46A. Rich O'Connor, 66B. Loren Thompson, 10A.

Defeated in the general election:

Larry Bodahl, 35B. Ben Boo, 8B. Marcel "Sal" Frederick, 24B. Joyce Henry, 40B. Bob McEachern, 22A. Dennis Newinski, 54B. Dick Pellow, 52B. Gary Schafer, 35A. Don Valento, 54A. HOUSE - Newly Elected Members after the 1992 Elections TOTAL=33

Marc Asch, 53B Brian Bergson, 48A Kay Brown, 25A Tim Commers, 38A Steve Dehler, 14A Mike Delmont, 51A Jerry Dempsey, 29A Geri Evans, 52B Mindy Greiling, 54B Mark Holsten, 56A Thomas Huntley, 6B Steve Kelley, 44A Stephanie Klinzing, 19B Arlon Lindner, 33A Darlene Luther, 47A Mark Mahon, 40A Betty McCollum, 55B Carol Molnau, 35A Darrel Mosel, 23B Pamela Neary, 56B Robert Ness, 20A Mark Olson, 19A Joe Opatz, 16A Tim Pawlenty, 38B Walter Perlt, 57A Alice Seagren, 41A Kathleen Sekhon, 50A David Tomassoni, 5B Todd Van Dellen, 34B Barbara Vickerman, 23A Ken Wolf, 41B Gary Worke, 28A Tom Workman, 43A