What percentage of incumbent legislators are returned to office during each election? (or-- What percentage of Minnesota legislators who run for re-election win?)

Year 1996	Body Senate
- <u>67</u> - <u>60</u>	Total number of legislators  Number of incumbents who did not run  Number of incumbents who ran
- <u>q</u>	Total number of new legislators after election  Number of incumbents who did not run  Number of incumbents who were defeated
- <u>60</u> - <u>2</u> - <u>58</u>	Incumbents ran Incumbents defeated Incumbents won
	mbents who won 58 = X mbents who ran 60 = 100
X =  the percent of $X = $ $96.7%$	of incumbents who ran and were re-elected

What percentage of incumbent legislators are returned to office during each election? (or-- What percentage of Minnesota legislators who run for re-election win?)

Year	1996	Body HOWLE
-	134 18 116	Total number of legislators  Number of incumbents who did not run  Number of incumbents who ran
 	24 18 6	Total number of new legislators after election*  Number of incumbents who did not run  Number of incumbents who were defeated  Number of incumbents who were defeated  Count includes PFL Report Series and Kathleen Sekhon, lach of whom was lested in 1992 to the term in the House.
	116 6 110	Incumbents ran Incumbents defeated (IR. incumbent lost in the primary) Incumbents won
		nbents who won 10 = X  nbents who ran 100 = 100

X = the percent of incumbents who ran and were re-elected

x = 94.8%

# Incumbent Senators Who Did Not Run in the 1996 Election

R

Terry D. Johnston (35)

DFL

Harold R. (Skip) Finn (4) Phil Riveness (40)
Ted Mondale (44)
Gene Merriam (49)
Kevin Chandler (55)

Carl Kroening (58)

## **Incumbent Senators Who Were Defeated in the 1996 Election**

 $\mathbb{R}$ 

Don Kramer (47)

DFL

Florian Chmielewski (8) defeated in primary

# New Representatives After the 1996 Election

R - 1, DFL - 8, Total - 9

R

Claire Robling (35)

**DFL** 

David J. TenEyck (4)

Becky Lourey (8)

Dave Johnson (40)

Steve Kelley (44)

Linda Scheid (47)

Leo Foley (49)

Charles Wiger (55)

Linda Higgins (58)

# **Incumbent Representatives Who Did Not Run in the 1996 Election**

R - 5, DFL - 13, Total - 18

#### R

Tony Onnen (20B) Jim Girard (21A) Gary Worke (28A) Virgil Johnson (32B) Teresa Lynch (50B)

## DFL

Bob Johnson (4A)
Becky Lourey (8B)
Marvin Dauner (9B)
Bob Anderson (10A)
Chuck Brown (13A)
Jeff Bertram (14B)
Roger Cooper (15B)
Don Ostrom (24B)
Steve Kelley (44A)
Walter Perlt (57A)
James Rice (58A)
John Sarna (59A)
Howard Orenstein (64B)

## New Representatives after the 1996 Election

R - 10, DFL - 14, Total - 24\*

#### R

Robert L. (Bob) Westfall (9B)

Bud Nornes (10A)

Torrey Westrom (13A)

Doug Stang (14B)

Tony Kielkucki (20B)

Marty Siefert (21A)

Doug Reuter (28A)

William Kuisle (31A)

Michelle Rifenberg (32B)

Kathy Tingelstad (50B)

#### DFL

Gail Skare (4A)

Bill Hilty (8B)

Al Juhnke (15A)

Gary W. Kubly (15B)

Ruth Johnson (24B)

Betty Folliard (44A)

Luanne Koskinen (49B)

Kathleen Sekhon (50A)

Satveer Chaudhary (52A)

Geri Evans (52B)

Nora Slawik (57A)

Joe Mullery (58A)

Len Biernat (59A)

Michael Paymer (64B)

<sup>\*</sup>Total includes DFL Representatives Geri Evans and Kathleen Sekhon, each of whom was elected in 1992 to one term in the House.

# <u>Incumbent Representatives Who Were Defeated in the 1996 Election</u> Total - 6, all R, one in the primary election

## ${\mathbb R}$

Tom Van Engen (15A) Eldon Warkentin (49B) Tom Hackbarth (50A) Skip Carlson (52A) Richard Pellow (52B)

Don Frerichs (31A) defeated in primary