What percentage of incumbent Minnesota legislators were returned to office during each election?

(What percentage of Minnesota legislators who run for re-election win?

Election Date	: Nov 7,	2006 Legislative Chamber: _	House		
	·				
Number of incumbents who ran:					
	134	Total number of legislators in the chamber			
minus	23	Number of incumbents who did not run			
equals	<u> </u>	Number of incumbents who ran			
Number of in	cumbents w	ho were defeated:/2			
	35	Number of new legislators after election			
minus	23	Number of incumbents who did not run			
equals	12	Number of incumbents who were defeated			
Number of in	cumbents w	ho won: <u>99</u>			
	111	Number of incumbents who ran			
		Number of incumbents who were defeated			
equals	99	Number of incumbents who won			
Percent of inc	cumbents re-	elected: <u>89, 2</u> %			
	99	Number of incumbents who won			
divided by		Number of incumbents who ran			
equals	.8919	x 100 = 89.19 Percent of incumbents re-	elected		

What percentage of incumbent Minnesota legislators were returned to office during each election?

(What percentage of Minnesota legislators who run for re-election win?

Election Date:	Nov	7, 2006 Legislative Chamber: SENATE		
Number of incumbents who ran: 58				
•	67	Total number of legislators in the chamber		
minus	9	Number of incumbents who did not run		
equals	58	Number of incumbents who did not run Number of incumbents who ran		
		who were defeated:		
	18	Number of new legislators after election		
minus	. 9	Number of incumbents who did not run		
equals	9	Number of incumbents who did not run Number of incumbents who were defeated		
		who won: 49		
		Number of incumbents who ran		
minus	9	Number of incumbents who were defeated		
equals	49	Number of incumbents who won		
Percent of incu	mbents	re-elected: <u>84. 5</u> %		
	49	Number of incumbents who won		
divided by	58	Number of incumbents who ran		
equals .	8448	x 100 = 84.48 Percent of incumbents re-elected		

2006 Legislative Election Statistics (Nov. 7, 2006)

Senate (67)

Senators who did not seek re-election (9):

Michele Bachmann John Hottinger Steve Kelley Bob Kierlin Sheila Kiscaden Becky Lourey Sharon Marko Jane Ranum Wes Skoglund

Senators who lost election (9):

Carrie Ruud
Cal Larson
Dallas Sams
Dean Johnson
Sean Nienow
Mike McGinn
Bill Bellanger
Mady Reiter
Brian LeClair

Mary Olson

New Senators (18) (Including 4 current House members):

Tony Lourey Dan Skogen Bill Ingebrigtsen Joe Gimse Rick Olseen Kathy Sheran Ann Lynch Sharon Erickson Ropes Jim Carlson John Doll Ron Latz (From House) Ray Vandeveer (From House) Sandy Rummel Kathy Saltzman Katie Sieben (From House) Patricia Torres Ray Dan Larson (From House)

House (134)

Representatives who did not seek re-election to the House (23):

Ron Abrams Irv Anderson Connie Bernardy Fran Bradley Jerry Dempsey Dan Dorman John Dorn Keith Ellison Matt Entenza Barb Goodwin Jeff Johnson Ruth Johnson Jim Knoblach

Running for State Senate Dist. 63 Dan Larson Running for State Senate Dist. 44 Ron Latz

Doug Meslow Scott Newman Maxine Penas Char Samuelson

Katie Sieben Running for State Senate Dist. 57

Barb Sykora

Ray Vandeveer Running for State Senate Dist. 52

Andy Westerberg

Representatives who ran for MN Senate seat (4) (All won):

Dan Larson Running for Senate Dist. 63 Ron Latz Running for Senate Dist. 44 Running for Senate Dist. 57 Katie Sieben Running for Senate Dist. 52 Ray Vandeveer

Representatives who lost election (12):

Judy Soderstrom Paul Gazelka

Greg Blaine

Peter Nelson

Ray Cox (25B) *

Greg Davids (31B) *

Lloyd Cybart

Tim Wilkin (38A) *

Duke Powell

Phil Krinkie (53A) *

Mike Charron

Karen Klinzing

^{*} Possible recount (Recount results: no change in election outcomes)

New Representatives (35):

David Olin

Tom Anzelc

Tim Faust

John Ward

Al Doty

Steve Gottwalt

Jeremy Kalin

Ron Shimanski

Terry Morrow

Kathy Brynaert

David Bly (25B) *

Robin Brown

Sandy Wollschlager

Kim Norton (29B) *

Ken Tschumper (31B) *

John Berns

Shelley Madore

Sandra Masin (38A) *

Will Morgan

Sarah Anderson

John Benson

Ryan Winkler

Carolyn Laine

Kate Knuth

Scott Kranz

Tom Tillberry

Bob Dettmer

Paul Gardner (53A) *

Carol McFarlane

Julie Bunn

Marsha Swails

Karla Bigham

Augustine Dominguez

Linda Slocum

Erin Murphy

Full Legislature

Members who did not seek re-election: 32

Representatives who ran for MN Senate seat: 4

Members who lost election: 21

New members: 53 (including 4 current House members)

^{*} Possible recount