What Percentage of Incumbent Minnesota Legislators Are Returned to Office After Each General Election?

(What percentage of Minnesota legislators who run for re-election win?)

Election Date: November 2, 2010 **Legislative Chamber**: House

Number of incumbents who ran: 119

134 Total number of legislators in the chambe

- Minus 15 Number of incumbents who did not run
- Equals 119 Number of incumbents who ran

Number of incumbents who were defeated: 21

36 Number of new legislators after electio
--

- Minus 15 Number of incumbents who did not run
- Equals 21 Number of incumbents who were defeated

Number of incumbents who won: 98

- 119 Number of incumbents who ran
- Minus 21 Number of incumbents who were defeated
- Equals 98 Number of incumbents who won

Percent of incumbents re-elected: 82.4 %

98	Number of incumbents who won
----	------------------------------

- Divided by 119 Number of incumbents who ran
- Equals .8235 x 100 = 82.35 Percent of incumbents re-elected

What Percentage of Incumbent Minnesota Legislators Are Returned to Office After Each General Election?

(What percentage of Minnesota legislators who run for re-election win?)

Election Date: November 2, 2010 Legislative Chamber: Senate

Number of incumbents who ran: 58

67 Total number of legislators in the chamb	er
---	----

- Minus 9 Number of incumbents who did not run
- Equals 58 Number of incumbents who ran

Number of incumbents who were defeated: 15

24	Number of new legislators after election
27	Number of new registators after election

- Minus 9 Number of incumbents who did not run
- Equals 15 Number of incumbents who were defeated

Number of incumbents who won: 43

58	Number of incumbents who ran
20	Number of incumbents who ran

- Minus 15 Number of incumbents who were defeated
- Equals 43 Number of incumbents who won

Percent of incumbents re-elected: 74.1 %

43	Number of incumbents who won
----	------------------------------

- Divided by 58 Number of incumbents who ran
- Equals .7414 x 100 = 74.14 Percent of incumbents re-elected

2010 Legislative Election Statistics (November 2, 2010)

G: Docs\Collections\Zonabooks\Legislators-Turnover&Retirees\Turnover 2010

Senate (67)

Senators who did not seek re-election (9)

Tarryl Clark Steve Dille Dennis Frederickson Debbie Johnson Mee Moua Steve Murphy Pat Pariseau Yvonne Prettner Solon Jim Vickerman

Senators who lost in primary election (2)

Sen. Satveer Chaudhary Sen. Paul Koering

Senators who lost general election (13)

Don Betzold Jim Carlson Kevin Dahle John Doll Lisa Fobbe Leo Foley Ann Lynch Rick Olseen Mary Olson Sharon Erickson Ropes Sandy Rummel Kathy Saltzman Dan Skogen

New Senators (24)

Michelle Benson Dave Brown John Carlson Roger Chamberlain Gary Dahms Ted Daley Al DeKruif Paul Gazelka Barb Goodwin Dan Hall John Harrington Gretchen Hoffman John Howe Benjamin Kruse Ted Lillie Doug Magnus Jeremy Miller Carla Nelson Scott Newman Sean Nienow John Pederson Roger Reinert Dave Thompson Pam Wolf

House (134)

Representatives who did not seek re-election to the House (15)

Karla Bigham Laura Brod Randy Demmer Rob Eastlund Tom Emmer Larry Haws Jeremy Kalin Margaret Anderson Kelliher Paul Kohls Doug Magnus Mary Ellen Otremba Roger Reinert Marty Seifert Dan Severson Cy Thao

Representatives who lost in primary election (0)

Representatives who lost general re-election bid (21)

David Bly Robin Brown Julie Bunn Al Doty Tim Faust Paul Gardner Gail Kulick Jackson Al Juhnke Bernie Lieder Sandra Masin Will Morgan Jerry Newton Mike Obermueller David Olin Paul Rosenthal Maria Ruud Brita Sailer Loren Solberg Phillip Sterner Marsha Swails Andy Welti

New Representatives (36)

Diane Anderson King Banaian Bob Barrett Mike Benson Kurt Bills Roger Crawford Kurt Daudt Sondra Erickson Dan Fabian Mary Franson Kerry Gauthier Marion Greene Glenn Gruenhagen David Hancock Andrea Kieffer Debra Kiel John Kriesel Ernie Leidiger Mike LeMieur Kathy Lohmer Pat Mazorol Joe McDonald Carolyn McElfatrick Rena Moran **Rich Murray** Pam Myhra Tim O'Driscoll Branden Petersen Duane Quam Linda Runbeck Joe Schomacker Kirk Stensrud Chris Swedzinski Bruce Vogel Kelby Woodard Doug Wardlow