# What percentage of incumbent Minnesota legislators were returned to office during each general election?

(What percentage of Minnesota legislators who run for re-election win?

Election Date: November 6, 2012 Legislative Chamber: House

## Number of incumbents who ran: 101

Total number of legislators in the chamber

minus 33\* Number of incumbents who did not run

\*32 did not run and 1 seat was vacant

equals 101 Number of incumbents who ran

### Number of incumbents who were defeated: 9

42 Number of new legislators after election

minus 33\* Number of incumbents who did not run

\*32 did not run and 1 seat was vacant

equals 9 Number of incumbents who were defeated

## Number of incumbents who won: 92

101 Number of incumbents who ran

minus 9 Number of incumbents who were defeated

equals 92 Number of incumbents who won

### Percent of incumbents re-elected: 91.09%

92 Number of incumbents who won

divided by 101 Number of incumbents who ran

equals  $.9109 \times 100 = 91.09$  Percent of incumbents re-elected

# What Percentage of Incumbent Minnesota Legislators Are Returned to Office After Each General Election?

(What percent of Minnesota legislators who run for re-election win?)

**Election Date**: November 6, 2012 **Legislative Chamber**: Senate

## Number of incumbents who ran:

Total number of legislators in the chamber

Minus 16 Number of incumbents who did not run in general election

Equals 51 Number of incumbents who ran

## Number of incumbents who were defeated:

Number of new legislators after election

Minus 16 Number of incumbents who did not run in general election

Equals 7 Number of incumbents who were defeated

### Number of incumbents who won:

Number of incumbents who ran

Minus 7 Number of incumbents who were defeated

Equals 44 Number of incumbents who won

## Percent of incumbents re-elected: 86.27%

44 Number of incumbents who won

Divided by 51 Number of incumbents who ran

Equals  $.8627 \times 100 = 86.27$  Percent of incumbents re-elected

# 2012 Legislative Election Statistics (November 6, 2012)

# **Senate** (67)

# Senators who did not seek re-election (16)

Al DeKruif (25)

Chris Gerlach (37)

John Harrington (67)

Linda Higgins (58)

Gretchen Hoffman (10)

Michael Jungbauer (48)

Ken Kelash (63)

Amy Koch (19)

Doug Magnus (22)

Keith Langseth (9)

Mary Jo McGuire (66)

Geoff Michel (41)

Gen Olson (33)

Sen. Mike Parry (26)

Claire Robling (35)

Ray Vandeveer (52)

# Senators who lost election (7)

John Carlson

**Ted Daley** 

Joe Gimse

John Howe

Benjamin Kruse

Ted Lillie

Pam Wolf

# New to the Senate (23)

- \*In House last session
- \*\*Previously in Legislature (gap)
- \*Bruce Anderson (29)

Jim Carlson\*\* (51)

\*Bobby Joe Champion (59)

Greg Clausen (57)

Kevin Dahle\*\* (20)

\*Kent Eken (4)

Melisa Franzen (49)

Foung Hawj (67)

John Hoffman (36)

Karin Housley (39)

Vicki Jensen (24)

Alice Johnson\*\* (37)

Susan Kent (53)

\*Mary Kiffmeyer (30)

David Osmek (33)

\*Branden Petersen (35)

Eric Pratt (55)

Carrie Ruud\*\* (10)

\*Bev Scalze (42)

Matt Schmit (21)

Bill Weber (22)

\*Torrey Westrom (12)

Melissa Halvorson Wiklund (50)

## House (134)

# Representatives who did not seek re-election to the House (32)

Bruce Anderson (19A)

Kurt Bills (37B)

Mark Buesgens (35B)

Bobby Joe Champion (58B)

Roger Crawford (8B)

Denise Dittrich (47A)

Connie Doepke (33B)

Keith Downey (41A)

Kent Eken (2A)

Kerry Gauthier (7B)

Marion Greene (60A)

Mindy Greiling (54A)

Bill Hilty (8A)

Larry Hosch (14B)

Kory Kath (26A)

Mary Kiffmeyer (16B)

Kate Knuth (50B)

John Kriesel (57A)

Morris Lanning (9A)

Mike LeMieur (12B)

Carol McFarlane (53B)

Pat Mazorol (41B)

Mark Murdock (10B)

Branden Petersen (49B)

Sandra Peterson (45B)

Tom Rukavina (5A)

Bev Scalze (54B)

Ron Shimanski (18A)

Nora Slawik (55B)

Steve Smith (33A)

Tom Tillberry (51B)

Torrey Westrom (11A)

# Vacant House Seat (1)

## Representatives who lost re-election bid (9)

Diane Anderson

King Banaian

Dave Hancock

**Larry Howes** 

Carolyn McElfatrick

Rich Murray

Kirk Stensrud

Bruce Vogel

**Doug Wardlow** 

## New to the House (42)

\*\*Previously in Legislature (gap)

Tony Albright (55B)

Mark Anderson (9A)

Connie Bernardy\*\* (41A)

David Bly\*\* (20B)

Raymond Dehn (59B)

Zach Dorholt (14B)

Ron Erhardt\*\* (49A)

Roger Erickson (2A)

Tim Faust\*\* (11B)

Peter Fischer (43A)

David Fitzsimmons (30B)

Mike Freiberg (45B)

Steve Green (2B)

Laurie Halverson (51B)

Jerry Hertaus (33A)

Jeff Howe (13A)

Jason Isaacson (42B)

Brian Johnson (32A)

Ron Kresha (9B)

Ben Lien (4A)

Sandra Masin\*\* (51A)

Jay McNamar (12A)

Jason Metsa (6B)

Will Morgan\*\* (56B)

Jim Newberger (15B)

Jerry Newton\*\* (37A)

Marion O'Neill (29B)

John Petersburg (24A)

Cindy Pugh (33B)

Joe Radinovich (10B)

Paul Rosenthal\*\* (49B)

Shannon Savick (27A)

Mary Sawatzky (17B)

Dan Schoen (54A)

Yvonne Selcer (48A)

Eric Simonson (7B)

Mike Sundin (11A)

Mark Uglem (36A)

JoAnn Ward (53A)

Anna Wills (57B)

Barb Yarusso (42A)

Nick Zerwas (30A)