Minnesota Legislative Reference Library www.leg.mn/Irl

## What Percentage of Incumbent Minnesota Legislators Are Returned to Office After Each General Election?

(What percent of Minnesota legislators who run for re-election win?)

Election Date: Nov. 4, 2014 Legislative Chamber: House

#### Number of incumbents who ran: 119

- 134 Total number of legislators in the chamber
- minus 15 Number of incumbents who did not run
- equals 119 Number of incumbents who ran

#### Number of incumbents who were defeated: 11

26 Number of new legislators after election

- minus 15 Number of incumbents who did not run
- equals 11 Number of incumbents who were defeated

#### Number of incumbents who won: 108

- 119 Number of incumbents who ran
- minus 11 Number of incumbents who were defeated
- equals 108 Number of incumbents who won

#### Percent of incumbents re-elected: 90.76 %

- 108 Number of incumbents who won
- divided by 119 Number of incumbents who ran
  - equals .9076 x 100 = 90.76 Percent of incumbents re-elected

# 2014 Legislative Election Statistics (November 4, 2014)

### House (134)

Representatives who did not seek re-election to the House (15)

Jim Abeler (35A) Mike Beard (55A) John Benson (44B) Mike Benson (26B) Kathy Brynaert (19B) David FitzSimmons (30B) Mary Liz Holberg (58A) Tom Huntley (7A) Andrea Kieffer (53B) Ernie Leidiger (47A) Pam Myhra (56A) Michael Paymar (64B) Steve Simon (46B) Kelby Woodard (20A) Kurt Zellers (34B)

Representatives who lost in primary election (0)

Representatives who lost re-election bid (11)

Zach Dorholt (14B) Roger Erickson (2A) Andrew Falk (17A) Tim Faust (11B) Patti Fritz (24B) Jay McNamar (12A) Will Morgan (56B) Joe Radinovich (10B) Shannon Savick (27A) Mary Sawatzky (17B) John Ward (10A)

New to the House (26)

Jon Applebaum (44B) Jeff Backer (12A) Dave Baker (17B) Peggy Bennett (27A) Drew Christensen (56A) Jack Considine (19B) Brian Daniels (24B) Kelly Fenton (53B) \*\*Dave Hancock (2A) Joshua Heintzeman (10A) \*\*Jim Knoblach (14B) Jon Koznick (58A) Bob Loonan (55A) Eric Lucero (30B) Dale Lueck (10B) Tim Miller (17A) Jim Nash (47A) Roz Peterson (56B) Nels Pierson (26B) Dave Pinto (64B) Jason Rarick (11B) Jennifer Schultz (7A) Dennis Smith (34B) Bob Vogel (20A) Abigail Whelan (35A) Cheryl Youakim (46B)

\*\*Previously served in Legislature (gap)