What percent of Minnesota legislators who run for re-election win?

Election Date: November 6, 2018 Legislative Chamber: House

Number of incumbents who ran: 111

	134	Total number of legislators in the chamber
minus	23	Number of incumbents who did not run
equals	111	Number of incumbents who ran

Number of incumbents who were defeated: 16

	39	Number of new legislators after election
minus	23	Number of incumbents who did not run
equals	16	Number of incumbents who were defeated *

Number of incumbents who won: 95

	111	Number of incumbents who ran
minus	16	Number of incumbents who were defeated st
equals	95	Number of incumbents who won

Percent of incumbents re-elected: 85.6%

	95	Number of incumbents who won
divided by	111	Number of incumbents who ran
equals	0.8558	
x 100	85.58%	Percent of incumbents re-elected

*note: 1 Representative lost in the primary election; 15 Representatives lost in the general election

Legislative Election Statistics (November 6, 2018)

Senate Special Election

District 13 - To fill the seat vacated with the resignation of Sen. Michelle Fischbach

Jeff Howe (13) – former House member

House (134)

Representatives who did not seek re-election to the House (23)

Susan Allen (62B) Jon Applebaum (44B) David Bly (20B) Karen Clark (62A) Matt Dean (38B) Peggy Flanagan (46A) Debra Hilstrom (40B) Joe Hoppe (47B) Jeff Howe (13A) Clark Johnson (19A) Sheldon Johnson (67B) Jason Metsa (6B) Erin Murphy (64A) Jim Newberger (15B) Ilhan Omar (60B) Joyce Peppin (34A) Erin Maye Quade (57A) Paul Rosenthal (49B) Linda Slocum (50A) Paul Thissen (61B) Mark Uglem (36A) JoAnn Ward (53A) Abigail Whelan (35A)

Representatives who lost in the primary election (1)

Bob Loonan (55A)

Representatives who lost in the general election (15)

Sarah Anderson (44A) Dario Anslemo (49A) Regina Barr (52B) Matt Bliss (5A) Drew Christiansen (56A) Kelly Fenton (53B) Keith Franke (54A) Randy Jessup (42A) Jim Knoblach (14B) Kathy Lohmer (39B) Jenifer Loon (48B) Roz Peterson (56B) Cindy Pugh (33B) Dennis Smith (34B) Anna Wills (57B)

New to the House (39)

Patty Acomb (44B) Kristin Bahner (34B) Robert Bierman (57A) Greg Boe (47B) Jeff Brand (19A) Hunter Cantrell (56A) Shelly Christensen (39B) Anne Claflin (54A) Lisa Demuth (13A) Heather Edelson (49A) Steve Elkins (49B) Aisha Gomez (62B) John Heinrich (35A) Kaohly Her (64A) Hodan Hassan (62A) Michael Howard (50A) John Huot (57B) Ginny Klevorn (44A) Carlie Kotyza-Witthuhn (48B) Todd Lippert (20B) Dave Lislegard (6B) Jamie Long (61B) Alice Mann (56B)

Shane Mekeland (15B) Kelly Moller (42A) Kelly Morrison (33B) Mohamud Noor (60B) John Persell (5A) – former House member Ruth Richardson (52B) Kristin Robbins (34A) Steve Sandell (53B) Zack Stephenson (36A) Brad Tabke (55A) Samantha Vang (40B) Ami Wazlawik (38B) Ryan Winkler (46A) – former House member Dan Wolgamott (14B) Xiong, Jay (67B) Xiong, Tou (53A)