# What percent of Minnesota legislators who run for re-election win?

**Election Date:** November 3, 2020 **Legislative Chamber:** House

#### Number of incumbents who ran: 118

	134	Total number of legislators in the chamber
minus	16	Number of incumbents who did not run
equals	118	Number of incumbents who ran

## Number of incumbents who were defeated: 7

	23	Number of new legislators after election
minus	16	Number of incumbents who did not run
equals	7	Number of incumbents who were defeated *

## Number of incumbents who won: 111

	118	Number of incumbents who ran
minus	7	Number of incumbents who were defeated *
equals	111	Number of incumbents who won

## **Percent of incumbents re-elected: 94.1%**

	111	Number of incumbents who won
divided by	118	Number of incumbents who ran
equals	.9406	
x 100	94.06 %	Percent of incumbents re-elected

<sup>\*</sup>note: 2 Representatives lost in the primary election; 5 Representatives lost in the general election

**Election Date:** November 3, 2020 **Legislative Chamber:** Senate

## Number of incumbents who ran: 63

	67	Total number of legislators in the chamber
minus	4	Number of incumbents who did not run
equals	63	Number of incumbents who ran

## Number of incumbents who were defeated: 6

	10	Number of new legislators after election
minus	4	Number of incumbents who did not run
equals	6	Number of incumbents who were defeated *

#### Number of incumbents who won: 57

	63	Number of incumbents who ran
minus	6	Number of incumbents who were defeated *
equals	57	Number of incumbents who won

#### **Percent of incumbents re-elected: 90.47%**

	57	Number of incumbents who won
divided by	63	Number of incumbents who ran
equals	.9047	
x 100	90.47 %	Percent of incumbents re-elected

<sup>\*</sup>note: 2 Senators lost in the primary election; 4 Senators lost in the general election

# **Legislative Election Statistics (November 3, 2020)**

# House (134)

#### Representatives who did not seek re-election to the House (16)

Hunter Cantrell (56A) Lyndon Carlson Sr. (45A)

Jack Considine Jr. (19B)

Dan Fabian (01A)

Bob Gunther (23A)

Laurie Halverson (51B)

Mary Kunesh-Podein (41B) – ran for Senate seat (41)

Sandy Layman (05B)

Ben Lien (04A)

Tim Mahoney (67A)

Alice Mann (56B)

**Bud Nornes (08A)** 

Linda Runbeck (38A)

Duane Sauke (25B)

Bob Vogel (20A)

Jean Wagenius (63B)

#### Representatives who lost in the primary election (2)

Raymond Dehn (59B) John Lesch (66B)

### Representatives who lost in the general election (5)

Jeff Brand (19A)

Anne Claflin (54A)

John Persell (05A)

Jeanne Poppe (27B)

Brad Tabke (55A)

#### New to the House (23)

Esther Agbaje (59B)

Susan Akland (19A)

Kaela Berg (56B)

Matt Bliss (05A) – former House member

Liz Boldon (25B)

John Burkel (01A)

Sandra Feist (41B)

Keith Franke (54A) – former House member

Cedrick Frazier (45A)

Luke Frederick (19B)

Emma Greenman (63B)

Jessica Hanson (56A)

Athena Hollins (66B)

Spencer Igo (05B)

Heather Keeler (04A)

Erik Mortensen (55A)

Patricia Mueller (27B)

Bjorn Olson (23A)

Brian Pfarr (20A)

Donald Raleigh (38A)

Jordan Rasmusson (08A)

Liz Reyer (51B)

John Thompson (67A)

## Representatives who won re-election (111)

Patty Acomb (44B)

Tony Albright (55B)

Paul Anderson (12B)

Jeff Backer (12A)

Kristin Bahner (34B)

Cal Bahr (31B)

Dave Baker (17B)

Jamie Becker-Finn (42B)

Peggy Bennett (27A)

Connie Bernardy (41A)

Robert Bierman (57A)

Greg Boe (47B)

Andrew Carlson (50B)

Shelly Christensen (39B)

Brian Daniels (24B)

Kurt Daudt (31A)

Greg Davids (28B)

Jim Davnie (63A)

Lisa Demuth (13A)

Bob Dettmer (39A)

Steve Drazkowski (21B)

Rob Ecklund (03A)

Heather Edelson (49A)

Steve Elkins (49B)

Sondra Erickson (15A)

Peter Fischer (43A)

Mary Franson (08B)

Mike Freiberg (45B)

Pat Garofalo (58B)

Aisha Gomez (62B)

Steve Green (02B)

Matt Grossell (02A)

Glenn Gruenhagen (18B)

Barb Haley (21A)

Rod Hamilton (22B)

Rick Hansen (52A)

Hodan Hassan (62A)

Alice Hausman (66A)

John Heinrich (35A)

Josh Heintzeman (10A)

Kaohly Her (64A)

Jerry Hertaus (33A)

Frank Hornstein (61A)

Melissa Hortman (36B)

Michael Howard (50A)

John Huot (57B)

Brian Johnson (32A)

Sydney Jordan (60A)

Tony Jurgens (54B)

Debra Kiel (01B)

Ginny Klevorn (44A)

Erin Koegel (37A)

Carlie Kotyza-Witthuhn (48B)

Jon Koznick (58A)

Ron Kresha (09B)

Fue Lee (59A)

Tina Liebling (26A)

Leon Lillie (43B)

Todd Lippert (20B)

Dave Lislegard (06B)

Jamie Long (61B)

Eric Lucero (30B)

Dale Lueck (10B)

Carlos Mariani (65B)

Paul Marquart (04B)

Sandra Masin (51A)

Joe McDonald (29A)

Shane Mekeland (15B)

Tim Miller (17A)

Kelly Moller (42A)

Rena Moran (65A)

Kelly Morrison (33B)

Jeremy Munson (23B)

Mary Murphy (03B)

Jim Nash (47A)

Michael V. Nelson (40A)

Nathan Nelson (11B)

Anne Neu (32B)

Mohamud Noor (60B)

Paul Novotny (30A)

Tim O'Driscoll (13B)

Liz Olson (07B)

Marion O'Neill (29B)

Gene Pelowski Jr. (28A)

John Petersburg (24A)

Nels Pierson (26B)

Dave Pinto (64B)

John Poston (09A)

Laurie Pryor (48A)

Duane Quam (25A)

Ruth Richardson (52B)

Kristin Robbins (34A)

Steve Sandell (53B)

Julie Sandstede (06A)

Joe Schomacker (22A)

Jennifer Schultz (07A)

Peggy Scott (35B)

Zack Stephenson (36A)

Mike Sundin (11A)

Chris Swedzinski (16A)

Tama Theis (14A)

Paul Torkelson (16B)

Dean Urdahl (18A)

Samantha Vang (40B)

Ami Wazlawik (38B)

Nolan West (37B)

Ryan Winkler (46A)

Dan Wolgamott (14B)

Tou Xiong (53A)
Jay Xiong (67B)
Cheryl Youakim (46B)

## Senate (67)

### Senators who did not seek re-election (4)

Paul T. Anderson (44) Richard Cohen (64) Scott Jensen (47) Carolyn Laine (41)

## Senators who lost in the primary election (2)

Jeff Hayden (62) Erik Simonson (7)

#### Senators who lost in the general election (4)

Dan Hall (56) Matt Little (58) Jerry Relph (14) Dan Sparks (27)

## New to the Senate (10)

Julia Coleman (47)
Gene Dornink (27)
Zach Duckworth (58)
Omar Fateh (62)
Ann Johnson Stewart (44)
Mary Kunesh (41) – former House member
Jen McEwen (7)
Erin Murphy (64) – former House member
Lindsey Port (56)
Aric Putnam (14)

### Senators who won re-election (57)

Jim Abeler (35)

Bruce Anderson (29)

Thomas Bakk (3)

Michelle Benson (31)

Karla Bigham (54)

Jim Carlson (51)

Roger Chamberlain (38)

Bobby Joe Champion (59)

Greg Clausen (57)

Steve Cwodzinski (48)

Gary Dahms (16)

D. Scott Dibble (61)

Rich Draheim (20)

Kari Dziedzic (60)

Chris Eaton (40)

Justin Eichorn (5)

Kent Eken (4)

Melisa Franzen (49)

Nick Frentz (19)

Paul Gazelka (9)

Michael Goggin (21)

Foung Hawj (67)

John Hoffman (36)

Karin Housley (39)

Jeff Howe (13)

Bill Ingebrigtsen (8)

Jason Isaacson (42)

John Jasinski (24)

Mark Johnson (1)

Susan Kent (53)

Mary Kiffmeyer (30)

Matt Klein (52)

Mark Koran (32)

Andrew Lang (17)

Ron Latz (46)

Warren Limmer (34)

John Marty (66)

Andrew Mathews (15)

Jeremy Miller (28)

Carla Nelson (26)

Scott Newman (18)

Jerry Newton (37)

David Osmek (33)

Sandra Pappas (65)

Eric Pratt (55)

Jason Rarick (11)

Ann Rest (45)

Julie Rosen (23)

Carrie Ruud (10)

David Senjem (25)

David Tomassoni (6)

Patricia Torres Ray (63)

Paul Utke (2)

Bill Weber (22)

Torrey Westrom (12)

Charles Wiger (43)

Melissa Wiklund (50)