Worksheet to determine the percent of elected members who have never previously served in the Minnesota Legislature

Election Year: 1974

Updated 12/2/2014

Start with the number of new legislators from the "Details" lists: 52

Names:

House:

Lyle Abeln, 38B. Leo Adams, 44B. Raymond Albrecht, 23A. John Arlandson, 41A. David Beauchamp, 9A. Joseph Begich, 6A. Orville Birnstihl, 24B. Peggy Byrne, 64B. Roy Carlson, 14A. Janet Clark, 60A. John Clawson, 19A. John Corbid, 1B. William Dean, 58A. Gary Doty, 8A. Ronald Evans, 29A. Douglas Ewald, 40A. Donald Friedrich, 32B. Michael George, 50A. Shirley Hokanson, 37A. Robert Jensen, 53B. John Kaley, 33A. Henry Kalis, 30A. Randy Kelly, 66B. Arnold Kempe, 67A. Marvin Ketola, 14B. Carl Kroening, 54A. Keith Langseth, 9B. Bill Luther, 45B. Tom Mangan, 19B. Maurice McCollar, 49B. Claudia Meier, 18A.

Marion (Mike) Menning, 26A. Jim Metzen, 52A. Howard Neisen, 49A. Steve Novak, 48A. c. Thomas Osthoff, 64A. Darrell Peterson, 27B. Paul (Pete) Petrafeso, 41B. B.J. Philbrook, 48B. Leo Reding, 31B. Wayne Schumacher, 15A. A.O.H. Setzepfandt, 21B. Ronald Sieloff, 63B. Wayne Simoneau, 46B. Wesley Skoglund, 61B. Ellsworth Smogard, 20A. Ted Suss, 3 6B. Gene Wenstrom, 11A. Jim White, 25A. Al Wieser, Jr., 35B. Bruce Williamson, 38A. Ken Zubay, 33B.

House members who won special elections: 1

Bruce Nelsen (12A)

Senate members who won a special election: 3

Peter Stumpf (64) Eugene Merriam (47) Robert Schmitz (36)

Add House and Senate members who won special elections to those who won in regular election 51 + 1 + 3 = 55

Subtract from that number the following:

Number of House members who served in the House before with a gap in service: 1 (Check to see if there is a gap in service on the list of House members by session. Only gaps between house terms, not between a senate and house term.)

Names:

Paul (Pete) Petrafeso

Number of House members who served in the Senate before: 0

(Check to see if any of them are on the list of those who switched bodies: http://www.leg.state.mn.us/legdb/switch.aspx?w=s_to_h)

Names:

Equals the number of new legislators who are truly new: 55

Divide the number by 201 and multiply by 100 to equal percentage: 27.4%

Add