Worksheet to determine the percent of elected members who have never previously served in the Minnesota Legislature

Election Year: 1980

Start with the number of new legislators from the "Details" lists: 46

Names:

House:

John Brandl (61A) Karen Clark (59A) George Dahlvang (54A) David Gruenes (17B) Ben Gustafson (7B) Walter Hanson (62B) Thomas Harens (65B) Earl Hauge (15A) John Himle (39B) Dorothy Hokr (44B) Robert Lemen (3B) Marcus Marsh (17A) Richard O'Connor (66A) Paul Ogren (13B) Lawrence Pogemiller (55A) Carolyn Rodriguez (53A) Gary Schafer (23A) Jerry Schoenfeld (30B) Tom Shea (32A) Tim Sherman (34B) Wesley Skoglund (61B) Wilbert Staten (56A) LeRoy Stumpf (1B) Kathleen Vellenga (63A)

Senate:

Wm. Belanger (38) Duane Benson (35) Linda Berglin (59) Joe Bertham (16) Greg Dahl (50) Charles Davis (49) Donald Dicklich (5) Don Frank (46) Dennis Fredrickson (28) Carl Kroening (54) Patricia Kronebusch (34) Keith Langseth (9) Marilyn Lantry (67) Steven Lindgren (37) Donald Moe (65) James Pehler (17) Darrel Peterson (27) Randy Peterson (19) Eric Petty (58) Jim Ramstead (43) Glen Taylor (29) Gene Waldorf (66)

Subtract from that number the following:

Number of House members who served in the House before with a gap in service: 3

(Check to see if there is a gap in service on the list of House members by session. Only gaps between house terms, not between a senate and house term.)

Names:

John Brandl Walter Hanson Wesley Skoglund

Number of House members who served in the Senate before: 0

(Check to see if any of them are on the list of those who switched bodies: http://www.leg.state.mn.us/legdb/switch.aspx?w=s_to_h)

Names:

Number of Senate members who served in the Senate before with a gap in service: 0

(Check to see if there is a gap in service on the list of Senate members by session.) (Only gaps between senate terms, not between a house and a senate term)

Names:

Number of Senate members who served in the House before: 7

(Check to see if any of them are on the list of those who switched bodies: http://www.leg.state.mn.us/legdb/switch.aspx?w=h_to_s.)

Names:

Linda Berglin Carl Kroening Keith Langseth Donald Moe James Pehler Darrel Peterson Gene Waldorf

Equals the number of new legislators who are truly new: 36

Divide the number by 201 and multiply by 100 to equal percentage: 17.9%