Worksheet to determine the percent of elected members who have never previously served in the Minnesota Legislature

Election Year: 1984

Start with the number of new legislators from the "Details" lists: 29

Names:

House:

Gordon Backlund, 51A.

Lynn Becklin, 19A.

Jim Boerboom, 27A.

Charles Brown, 11A.

Joel Carlson, 9A.

Dale Clausnitzer, 48A.

Carol Dyke, 28A.

Marcel Frederick, 24B.

Dennis C. Frederickson, 28B.

John Hartinger, 50A.

Dean Hartle, 30A.

Mike Jaros, 7B.

Loren Jennings, 19B.

Ralph Kiffmeyer, 18B.

Bernard Lieder, 2A.

Peter McLaughlin, 60B.

Harriet McPherson, 55B.

Howard Miller, 20B.

Edgar Olson, 2B.

Dennis Ozment, 37B.

Sandra Pappas, 65B.

Dennis Poppenhagen, 10A.

Tom Rees, 36B.

Ann Rest, 46A.

Don Richter, 12A.

Brad Stanius, 53B.

Ted Thorson, 4A.

Chris Tjornhom, 40A.

Eileen Tompkins, 37A.

Subtract from that number the following:

Number of House members who served in the House before with a gap in service: 3

(Check to see if there is a gap in service on the list of House members by session. Only gaps between house terms, not between a senate and house term.)

Names:

Lynn Becklin Mike Jaros Tom Rees

Number of House members who served in the Senate before: 0

(Check to see if any of them are on the list of those who switched bodies: http://www.leg.state.mn.us/legdb/switch.aspx?w=s_to_h)

Names:

Equals the number of new legislators who are truly new: 26

Divide the number by 201 and multiply by 100 to equal percentage: 12.9%