Worksheet to determine the percent of elected members who have never previously served in the Minnesota Legislature

Updated 12/2/2014

Election Year: 1988

Start with the number of new legislators from the "Details" lists: 15

Na	m	es	•
----	---	----	---

House:

Ron Abrams

Jeff Conway

Jim Girard Kris

Hasskamp

Joyce Henry

Jerry Janezich

Warren Limmer

Teresa Lynch

Bill Macklin

Mary Jo McGuire

Don Ostrom

Dick Pellow

Thomas Pugh

Charlie Weaver

Diane Wray Williams

Subtract from that number the following:

Number of House members who served in the House before with a gap in service: 0

(Check to see if there is a gap in service on the list of House members by session. Only gaps between house terms, not between a senate and house term.)

Names:

Number of House members who served in the Senate before: 0

(Check to see if any of them are on the list of those who switched bodies: http://www.leg.state.mn.us/legdb/switch.aspx?w=s_to_h)

Names:

Number of Senate members who were elected in a special election and served on the first day of session: 2

Names:

Pat Pariseau (37) Patrick McGowan (48)

Equals the number of new legislators who are truly new: 15 + 2 = 17

Divide the number by 201 and multiply by 100 to equal percentage: 8.5%