Worksheet to determine the percent of elected members who have never previously served in the Minnesota Legislature

Election Year: 2010

Start with the number of new legislators from the "Details" lists: 60

## Names:

## Senate:

Michelle Benson

**Dave Brown** 

John Carlson

Roger Chamberlain

**Gary Dahms** 

**Ted Daley** 

Al DeKruif

Paul Gazelka

Barb Goodwin

Dan Hall

John Harrington

Gretchen Hoffman

John Howe

Benjamin Kruse

Ted Lillie

Doug Magnus

Jeremy Miller

Carla Nelson

**Scott Newman** 

Sean Nienow

John Pederson

Roger Reinert

**Dave Thompson** 

Pam Wolf

House:

Diane Anderson

King Banaian

**Bob Barrett** 

Mike Benson

**Kurt Bills** 

Roger Crawford

**Kurt Daudt** 

Sondra Erickson

Dan Fabian

Mary Franson

**Kerry Gauthier** 

Marion Greene

Glenn Gruenhagen

**David Hancock** 

Andrea Kieffer

Debra Kiel

John Kriesel

Ernie Leidiger

Mike LeMieur

Kathy Lohmer

Pat Mazorol

Joe McDonald

Carolyn McElfatrick

Rena Moran

Rich Murray

Pam Myhra

Tim O'Driscoll

Branden Petersen

Duane Quam

Linda Runbeck

Joe Schomacker

Kirk Stensrud

Chris Swedzinski

**Bruce Vogel** 

**Doug Wardlow** 

Kelby Woodard

## **Subtract from that number the following:**

(Check to see if there is a gap in service on the list of House members by session. Only gaps between house terms, not between a senate and house term.)
Names:
Sondra Erickson
Number of House members who served in the Senate before: 1 (Check to see if any of them are on the list of those who switched bodies: http://www.leg.state.mn.us/legdb/switch.aspx?w=s_to_h)
Names:
Linda Runbeck
Number of Senate members who served in the Senate before with a gap in service: 1 (Check to see if there is a gap in service on the list of Senate members by session. Only gaps between senate terms, not between a house and a senate term)
Names:
Sean Nienow
Number of Senate members who served in the House before: 6 (Check to see if any of them are on the list of those who switched bodies: http://www.leg.state.mn.us/legdb/switch.aspx?w=h_to_s.)
Names:
Gazelka, Paul Goodwin, Barbara J. Magnus, Doug Nelson, Carla J. Newman, Scott J. Reinert, Roger J.

Divide the number by 201 and multiply by 100 to equal percentage: 25.4%

Equals the number of new legislators who are truly new: 51