The Situation in Burundi Statement by the Burundi Configuration of the UN Peacebuilding Commission 15 May 2015

New York, 15 May 2015 – The PBC Burundi Configuration¹ met today to hear an update on the situation in Burundi by the Permanent Representative of Burundi, H.E. Mr. Albert Shingiro, as well as by the UN's Under-Secretary-General for Political Affairs, Mr. Jeffrey Feltman. Today's meeting of the PBC Burundi Configuration has been its third since 29 April 2015.

The PBC Burundi Configuration highlights the importance of dialogue and reconciliation among all Burundians to address the root causes of the current crisis. It stresses the need to find a lasting political solution that ensures Burundi's hard gained progress in peace consolidation and peacebuilding.

The PBC Burundi Configuration calls on all Burundians to urgently establish, through open dialogue and a spirit of compromise, the necessary conditions for the holding of free, transparent, credible, inclusive and peaceful elections.

The PBC Burundi Configuration welcomes, encourages and fully supports continued regional engagement in Burundi, particularly by the East African Community, the African Union and the International Conference of the Great Lakes Region, with a view to finding a lasting solution to the crisis.

The PBC Burundi Configuration equally commends UN efforts, particularly through the Special Envoy of the Secretary General for the Great Lakes Region, Mr. Saïd Djinnit, and MENUB. It fully backs the Special Envoy's mandate.

The PBC Burundi Configuration will continue to follow the situation closely and stands ready to help Burundi at this critical juncture of its journey towards sustainable peace and development.

¹ The Configuration is composed of the following countries, UN representatives and regional and international financial institutions: Australia, Bangladesh, Belgium, Bosnia Herzegovina, Brazil, Burundi, Canada, Chad, Chile, China, Colombia, Comoros, Croatia, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Egypt, Ethiopia, France, Germany, Guatemala, India, Italy, Japan, Kenya, Malaysia, Mexico, Morocco, Nepal, Netherlands, Nigeria, Norway, Pakistan, Republic of Korea, Russian Federation, Rwanda, South Africa, Sweden, Switzerland, Trinidad and Tobago, Turkey, Uganda, United Kingdom, United Republic of Tanzania, United States, African Development Bank, African Union, East African Economic Community, Economic Commission for Africa, Economic Community of Central African States, European Union, Executive Representative of the Secretary-General, Food and Agricultural Organization, International Conference on the Great Lakes Region, International Monetary Fund, Inter-Parliamentary Union, Organisation internationale de la francophonie, Organization of Islamic Cooperation, Special Representative of the Secretary-General for the Great Lakes Region, World Bank.