How to make NULL (∅) values zero within a dynamic field.

Hello, I am new to looker. This code is for a tile in my dashboard and I want it to show '0', when there are no results rather than NULL (∅). I have tried turning the measure into a custom measure, but it would not filter correctly like I needed. I also tried to move the dynamic field definition into my view file just as a measure, but I found it produced a different value when there is actual data. I also tried changing conditional_formatting_include_nulls: true , but I also found it did not work. I am new to looker so I may have done some of the above incorrectly. Thank you for the help !

title: Average
name: redundant_name
model: my_model
explore: appointments
type: single_value
fields: [average_of_age]
limit: 500
column_limit: 50
dynamic_fields:
- category: measure
expression: ''
label: Average Age
value_format:
value_format_name: decimal_0
based_on: patients.age
_kind_hint: measure
measure: average_of_age
type: average
_type_hint: number
filters:
appointments.is_missed: 'No'
appointments.is_cancelled: 'No'
appointments.is_pending: 'No'
patients.is_patient_active: 'Yes'
custom_color_enabled: true
show_single_value_title: true
show_comparison: false
comparison_type: value
comparison_reverse_colors: false
show_comparison_label: true
enable_conditional_formatting: false
conditional_formatting_include_totals: false
conditional_formatting_include_nulls: false
defaults_version: 1
listen:
Date Filter: appointments.start_date
Account ID: accounts.id
Entry Date: appointments.start_date
row: 15
col: 8
width: 8
height: 4

Solved Solved
0 8 993
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Hello liamsebestyen,

Working with these nulls is tricky.  Let me explain what I believe you are running into.

Generally speaking, Looker DOES tend to show null/missing measure values as 0s.  For example, the standard sql of type:sum measures includes a coalesce function to present the sum as 0.